/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Tisch Library Special Collections

Access to the Collection

     The Seaverns Equine Collection is housed in the Webster Family Library at the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine, Tufts University, in Grafton, MA. Directions

     Most of the collection is in the Tufts Libraries catalog; records may be viewed here.

     Approximately 1250 volumes have been digitized and are available to read and download in the Internet Archive. A simple search of "webster seaverns" on the Internet Archive's main page will bring these texts together.

     For more background on the collection, and to read the Cataloger's Blog, which contains many interesting insights about the material, consult the John A. Seaverns Equine Collection wiki.

     Questions about the Seaverns Collection may be addressed to Margret Branschofsky, Director of Library Services & Information Technology, Webster Family Library, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University. Email: margret.branschofsky@tufts.edu

About the Collection

  The Webster Family Library supports the academic, clinical and research activities of students and faculty of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University.

     In 2002, the Library received a bequest of approximately 6500 books related to all aspects of horsemanship, representing the lifelong collection of John Seaverns. With representative titles covering five centuries, this collection provides a valuable insight into the role of the horse through the ages. The collection is especially strong in racing, hunting, equestrian art.

     While most of the volumes date from the 19th and 20th centuries, several rare treatises on horsemanship, including one from the 16th century, are a part of the collection. The Duke of Newcastle's A General System of Horsemanship (1743), with its outstanding woodcuts, is the most striking example. Other items in the collection provide a glimpse into military training, laws related to horse ownership, and the various levels of society. Photo albums by noted photographer L.S. Sutcliffe record life at major racing stables in the early 20th century. Many volumes provide historical information, such as descriptions of horse-drawn carriages, farriers and "stable economy". The variety of material is a rich resource for students and researchers in a number of disciplines - sociology, history, animal science.

Humanities Bibliographer & Curator of Rare Books