/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Tisch Library Special Collections

Access to the Collection

In the Tufts Catalog, choose a Keyword search and enter the text: john holmes collection digital images.

About the Collection

     John A. Holmes (1904-1962) was a widely published poet and beloved English professor at Tufts University. His greatest contribution may have been the extraordinary impact he had on the lives of other poets. The list of his colleagues, friends, and former students is a virtual "who's-who" of American poetry in the mid-20th Century, prominent among them Robert Frost, Anne Sexton, John Ciardi '38, and Maxine Kumin.

     Robert Frost visited the Medford campus on a number of occasions to read his works and meet Holmes's students. Special Collections holds many presentation copies of Frost's poetry, gifts to Professor Holmes which contain inscriptions to his friend. These books often include excerpted verses or complete poems. A few of these were from poems unpublished at the time they were inscribed.

     Tisch Library is digitizing images of presentation copies from Robert Frost, John Ciardi, and others as time permits. These images are linked to the relevant catalog records.

     For more information about John Holmes, including access to his manuscript collection, please see the Digital Collections & Archives web site, The Poet's Work.

     Each April Tisch Library and the Department of English co-sponsor the John Holmes Memorial Poetry Reading. Past events have featured Franz Wright, Richard Wilbur, Michael Harper, Maxine Kumin, Sam Cornish, and David Ferry.

Humanities Bibliographer & Curator of Rare Books