Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides@Tufts

Database Searching Tips: ProQuest

Description

Log in to ProQuest.

  • Provides scholarly materials in the social sciences and science.
  • Allows simultaneous searching of several databases.
  • Includes recommended web sites.
  • List of databases included

    Wildcards

    • * replaces zero or more characters within or at the end of a word.
    • ? replaces a single character. Use multiple question marks to replace specified number of characters, e.g., psych????y will find psychiatry or psychology but not psychometrically.

    Connectors

    • before and after
      •  terms must be in the order typed with no words between them.
    • near
      • terms must be within 10 words of each other.
    • within #
      • terms may be in any order with no more than # words between them.

    Limits

    Varies depending on database. Generally language, document type, and date.

    Save/Rerun

    Save up to 20 search strategies for 6 months.

    1. Select Alert Me.
    2. Log in or register if it is your first time using this function.
    3. Customize as you wish.
    4. Save the changes.

    Full Text/Document Delivery

    Much full text available. To find sources that aren’t full-text, select Find it@Tufts.