HCOM 522: Changing Health Behaviors - Healthy People and Communities

Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau, This is a tool to help users navigate data from the U.S. Census. This tool offers users options for both guided and advanced searches.

The CDC is the primary federal stakeholder for preventative health for the United States. The CDC gathers health status and behavior data through surveillance and surveys. The CDC promotes interventions with demonstrated effectiveness and provides public-health information about the scope of diseases and conditions on the health of Americans.

A-Z topic list of statistics and data available from U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Contains many links to statistical data that represents benchmarks.

Provides a single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems produced by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Coordinated by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. World’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the US.

A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Coordinated by the National Center for Health Statistics of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs. Interviewers are from the U.S. Census Bureau. The Early Release (ER) Program of the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) provides analytic reports and preliminary microdata files on an expedited schedule.

Maintained by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. WISQARS provides customized reports of injury-related data.

YRBSS monitors six categories of priority health-risk behaviors among youth and young adults. Includes a national school-based survey conducted by CDC as well as state, territorial, and local school-based surveys conducted by education and health agencies.

Sponsored by the National Cancer Institute and other federal agencies, this portal links to resources that can assist in:
- Assessing the cancer and/or risk factor burden within a given state.
- Identifying potential partners that may already be working with high-risk populations.
- Understanding the current research findings and recommendations.
-Accessing and downloading evidence-based programs and products.
-Finding guidelines for planning and evaluation.

Collects data about the use of cancer-related information by the American public. These data provide opportunities to understand and improve health communication.

A searchable database of cancer control interventions and program materials and is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to research-tested materials.

Created by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, "The Community Guide" promotes interventions with demonstrated effectiveness.

Spearheaded by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), the Health Community Design Initiative focuses on improved community design as a means of combating asthma, diabetes, and obesity.

"Provides resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications in the United States. The surveillance system also includes county-level estimates of diagnosed diabetes and selected risk factors for all U.S. counties to help target and optimize the resources for diabetes control and prevention.

The Atlas assembles statistics on three broad categories of food environment factors: Food Choices, Health and Well-Being, and Community Characteristics. The Atlas currently includes 168 indicators of the food environment. Some data are from the last Census of Population in 2000 while others are as recent as 2009. Some are at the county level while others are at the State or regional level. The most recent county-level data are used whenever possible.

Provides public-health information about the scope of diseases and conditions on the health of Americans.