GENERAL VIDEO ARCHIVES
A collection of films, short and full-length, that have entered into the Public Domain. These films can be freely downloaded, modified, and remixed.
Categorized stock video clips from WGBH TV. Loaded with rights-free archival footage. Create mashups or video shorts.
Collection with various media types including images and videos with licenses which allow reuse under certain conditions, such as attribution.
The purpose of the IMA is to offer permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The site includes texts, audio, moving images, software, as well as archived web pages. One of the main highlights of the IMA is access to the Prelinger Film archive, currently acquired by the Library of Congress Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound division.
C-SPAN content is easy to search from their video search site. There is a simple one-box search and an advanced search screen that allows for limiting by date, as well as by thematic category, topic, and series.
Provides thousands of streaming and downloadable video and audio lectures conducted by faculty from universities around the world. Features include science animations and live timed online tests. This collection has a particular strength in health, life, and physical sciences, but also includes lectures representing a wide variety of other topics including law, literature, and history.
A growing curated collection of 1350+ documentary films are accessible by topic or channel. Includes material provided by established educational documentary distributors as well as first-time filmmakers.
An online portal of multimedia content on a wide range of topics—from animal rights, health and human services, and poverty to the environment, education, and spirituality.
Offers original content to facilitate a cross-pollination of ideas, spirit and knowledge among storytellers, content producers, professionals from social/scientific arenas and global audiences
hundreds of animated explanations, interactive tutorials and instructional videos
Claims to have "the Web's largest collection of conference and event videos." Browse or search through business, politics, science, environment, technology, and culture sections.
Deveoped by UNC-Chapel Hill, Open-Video is a repository of digitized video content intended for multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
This interesting project claims to search TV content not just by keyword, but also by analysis of the video content, thereby looking for conceptual matches. The content searched is relatively small compared to major search engines like Google, but it appears to have a good selection of news content.
Another video search aggregator.
SCIENCE-SPECIFIC VIDEO ARCHIVES
Select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures. Many items in the collection are in the public domain; each item includes Usage Rights.
Access public domain video clips of many National Park Service sites including monuments, battlefields, historic sites and related areas. Downloadable, QuickTime H.264 movie clips are available as zipped files that can be decompressed for use in video editing applications, web sites and other projects. All video clips are public domain.
A site offered by the U.N. with professional quality videos and text under the Creative Commons license that allows you to share content.
Images, videos, and interactive features from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
National Geographic provides streaming video related to environmental, zoological, anthropological, astronomical, and other science-related topics.
70+ NOVA episodes and segments are available online (with closed captioning), and may be browsed by subjects such as Exploration, Health, Nature, Space, and Technology.
Provides online access to videos in the collection on a variety of health topics from sports medicine to mental health via streaming and download. Features prominent doctors presenting information on health research.
HISTORY & POLITICS VIDEO ARCHIVES
Browse the entire American Experience series featuring over 200 films on a wide variety of historic topics. Watch full films online, download teacher's guides, and learn behind the scenes information from the programs' creators.
Provides access to primary sources depicting the Civil Rights Movement and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, and public broadcasters.
The History Channel provides streaming video browsable by topic or show.
The collection, housed at the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, is focused on American politics, public policy, and history with special focus on the American presidency. The collection includes more than 2,500 hours of White House recordings and speeches, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.
The American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience -- a digital record of American history and creativity. The collection contains over 10 million items, and the archival footage dates back to the late 1800s.
From the collection description: "The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide."
COMMERCIAL TELEVISION/FILM ARCHIVES
Thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
The Archive has collected hundreds of in-depth video interviews with television legends and pioneers. These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession.
Currently in beta, this site indexes over 12,000 movie clips by actor, title, genre, occasion, action, mood, character, theme, setting, prop, and dialogue. Clips can be viewed, shared via social networking sites, and embedded into web content.