/**/ Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

History 193: Family Histories and American Culture

For Prof. Kendra Field and her students.

Citation Guide

Cover of Chicago 17th edition   The Chicago Manual of Style is the citation style your
    professor requests you to use.

    It is also available online

    and in Research Hub, Room 224, Z 253 .U69.     

    Example citations and additional resources are available on
    the Chicago Style Guide.

    Use the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for more examples of different format types (chapters in books, electronic journals,etc.) when using footnotes and bibliographies.

Citing Your Sources

Modified QuickSheet - Elizabeth Shown Mills: (Mills, Elizabeth Shown. QuickSheet: Citing Online Historical Resources. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. 2007.)

"Year United States Federal Census," database, Ancestry.com (http://www.ancestry.com : accessed Day Month Year), entry for Name, City, County, State.

1880 United States Federal Census," database, Ancestry.com (http://www.ancestry.com : accessed 10 January 2010), entry for Melichor Reik, Evart, Osceola, Michigan.

Bibliography form:

"1880 United States Federal Census." Database. Ancestry.com. http://www.ancestry.com : 2010.

Full Footnote:

1. "1880 United States Federal Census," database, Ancestry.com (Http://www.ancestry.com : accessed 10 January 2010), entry for Melichor Reik, Evart, Osceola County, Michigan.

Short or subsequent note:

11. "1880 U.S. Federal Census," Ancestry.com database entry for Melichor Reik, Evart, Osceola Co., Michigan.

Introduction to Zotero

Zotero

 

Zotero is a free, simple plug-in (for Firefox) or a standalone program (with browser extensions to Google Chrome and Safari) that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, websites and other materials that you've collected and then automatically converts those references into a properly formatted bibliography. It is fairly easy to use, reliable, and well-documented. Zotero can:

  • import references directly from many of the Tisch Library's databases
  • create a properly-formatted bibliography that conforms to your selected output style, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any one of hundreds of other formats
  • format in-text citations, endnotes, and footnotes in the documents you are writing
  • serve as your own searchable reference database
  • organize references into custom groups, enabling you to track your sources by topic, course, book chapters, or other criteria of your choosing
  • capture snapshots of websites
  • attach notes to references, create standalone notes
  • sync your library to "My Library" on the Zotero servers to save your work

Alongside tracking literature citations, Zotero stores downloaded or links to Acrobat pdf files or any other types of files on your computer.

See the complete guide for more detailed information.  See the Tisch Library Workshops webpage for a schedule of workshops.

Help with Research

Connie Reik's picture
Connie Reik
Contact:
Humanities Research & Instruction Librarian and Government Information Coordinator
Tisch Library
Appointment Hours:
M-F 10-5pm
Connie.Reik@tufts.edu
617-627-2073