The Museum’s collection is the basis for investigating aspects of the Holocaust and its lasting impact. There are many different ways that people can use the collection, in person and online, to learn about the Holocaust and conduct research.
The Holocaust provides a wealth of primary sources to examine how genocide unfolded in Eastern Europe. The Nazis spent years reshaping their government and constructing a society around the idea of racial purity. By examining primary source material, it is easy to see this progression. The following are made available (in English translation) for researchers, students, teachers, and anyone with an interest in this time period.
Large digitized collection of oral history interviews conducted by U.S. government personnel with Soviet displaced persons at the end of WWII; contains information about life in the occupied territories of the USSR.
As the Jewish people’s living memorial to the Holocaust, Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. Established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust, Yad Vashem is today a dynamic and vital place of intergenerational and international encounter.
For over half a century, Yad Vashem has been committed to four pillars of remembrance:
is the leading publisher of products of interest to persons who are researching Jewish genealogy, Jewish family trees or Jewish roots. The books we sell are meant to assist you in your research—from beginner guides to books about Jewish surnames. Be sure to check out their journal Avotaynu and the index to back issues of articles which you can get on Interlibrary Loan from Brandeis.
A resource of hope, the Red Cross has worked to trace and, if possible, reunite family members separated by every major war in this century. With access to World War II records, it is now possible to determine the fate of many more victims of Nazi persecution. The Red Cross can often assist in securing the documentation of forced labor or internment in a concentration camp, which is required when survivors submit claims for reparations or pensions from the German government. Each year, thousands of people turn to their local Red Cross chapter to request an international search for unforgotten family members.
Includes full-text and full-image articles dating back to the first issue of the NYT in 1851; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF(r) files.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. Data will be added monthly until the entire period of 1785-1985 is available.
The most detailed account of U.S. culture and history you’ll find anywhere—based on the renowned research power of Readers’ Guide! For over 100 years, library users have relied on Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature as the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, such as magazines written at the time, including Time and Newsweek. Mostly U.S. magazines.
Current Digest of the Soviet Press
The Current Digest of the Soviet Press consists of articles from a range of Soviet newspapers that were selected by American academics during the Cold War, and translated into English. These articles are sometimes printed in the Current Digest in their entirety, and are in other cases abbreviated.
Although began in 1949, it does not include direct coverage of the war, but may include articles on war commemorations, films, monuments, etc.
Call Number: D839 .C87
Tisch Holdings on Level G: v.16:no.1 (Feb. 12, 1964) - v.43:no.55 (Jan. 22, 1991)
Ginn Library Holdings: v.1:no.1 (Jan. 05, 1949) - v.18:no.52 (Jan. 05, 1967),
v.21:no.1 (Jan. 05, 1969) - v.21:no.52 (Jan. 05, 1970),
v.23:no.1 (Jan. 25, 1969) - v.43:no.52 (Jan. 29, 1992)
The microfilm, microfiche, and electronic collections include a wide array of English, German, Hebrew, and Yiddish newspapers; reproductions of Hebrew manuscripts; works on Israel, Zionism, and American Jewish history; the personal papers of Abba Hillel Silver and Chaim Weizmann; rabbinical texts; important bibliographic databases; and other relevant research tools and collections.