Research Guides@Tufts
-
Tufts Libraries:
- Clark SMFA
- Ginn
- Hirsh Health Sciences
- Lilly Music
- TARC
- Tisch
- Webster Veterinary
Research Guides@Tufts
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health by
Successfully tested in the authors' courses at Boston University and Harvard University, this text combines theory and practice in presenting traditional and new epidemiologic concepts. Broad in scope, the text opens with five chapters covering the basic epidemiologic concepts and data sources. A major emphasis is placed on study design, with separate chapters devoted to each of the three main analytic designs: experimental, cohort, and case-control studies.Full chapters on bias, confounding, and random error, including the role of statistics in epidemiology, ensure that students are well-equipped with the necessary information to interpret the results of epidemiologic studies. An entire chapter is also devoted to the concept of effect measure modification, an often-neglected topic in introductory textbooks. Up-to-date examples from the epidemiologic literature on diseases of public health importance are provided throughout the book.The Third Edition is a thorough update that offers:* New examples, the latest references, and public health statistics.* Nearly 50 new review questions.* Updated discussion of certain epidemiologic methods.* New figures depicting epidemiologic concepts.
Introduction to Health Research Methods by
From best-selling author of Introduction to Global Health, Introduction to Health Research Methods demystifies the research process and empowers students (and other new investigators) to conduct their own original research projects. Using clear language and practical examples, the text has five sections that describe the entire research process beginning with the identification of a research question and the selection of a study approach, proceeding through the collection and analysis of data and the preparation of a formal scientific report, and ending with academic and professional presentations and publishing.By breaking the research process down into manageable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods communicates the excitement and importance of health research--and encourages readers to make their own contribution to improving the health of individuals and communities through research.Key features:* A step-by-step guide to conducting research in medicine, public health, and other health sciences* For classroom use or for guiding independent work on scholarly projects* Covers the entire research process from identifying a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data to disseminating the findings* Includes detailed information about how to conduct primary studies (collection of new data), secondary analyses (analysis of existing data), and tertiary studies (literature reviews)* Weaves elements of research ethics throughout the book
An Introduction to Health Services Research by
This is a primary, comprehensive textbook for people who are considering undertaking a piece of health-related research. It is an accessible companion with the aim of getting the reader to think broadly about all of the issues that need to be considered when embarking on a project. This is a pragmatic book, a step-by-step guide to research which mirrors the structure of a research project, taking you through the thought process for designing and conducting your study from formulating the right research question at idea inception, ascertaining what methodologies and analysis can answer what type of questions, right through to dissemination, all presented in an easy, digestible style. The book is full of case study illustrations and practical tips such as how to work out a research budget and obtaining funding for your project, discussion of what permissions need to obtained when conducting research with people, and how to involve public and patients. The authors are all experienced researchers and so this book is an accumulation of collective wisdom on common research challenges and issues.
Introduction to Research by
Bridge the gap between research and practice with Introduction to Research: Understanding and Applying Multiple Strategies, 5th Edition. This easy-to-read edition covers all the major research design strategies: qualitative, quantitative, naturalistic, experimental-type, and mixed method. And with the text's up-to-date research information and references, you will have a solid foundation from which to critique and understand research designs and their applications to healthcare and human service settings. Case examples provide real-life snapshots of what it is like to participate in different types of research processes, identify research dilemmas relevant to chapter subjects, and alert you to problems you might encounter. Authors make the topics more accessible, so research becomes more relevant - and topics come to life. Covers experimental-type, naturalistic, and mixed method design strategies to improve your ability to compare, contrast, and integrate different methods. Presents complex information clearly in a highly readable, and easy-to-understand, manner. Includes detailed discussions of qualitative and quantitative methodologies, a unique and balanced focus that makes this text more comprehensive than others in its field. NEW! Up-to-date research methods, strategies, and references, like digital sources, visual methods, and geographical analysis, give you the latest information on research in diverse areas of health and human services.
Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research by
A prevailing paradigm in social research and community-based interventions involves examining individual problems within various contexts-from the interpersonal to the community at large. Yet the research methodologies used to support these interventions typically lack the ability to consider data from this multilevel, systemic perspective. Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research presents a range of innovative research methodologies that address this basic problem in community-based research frameworks, thereby facilitating more encompassing and more nuanced analyses and interventions. Contributors to this groundbreaking volume offer appropriate methodologies for addressing specific, community-based problems that are relevant to both researchers and practitioners involved in designing, implementing, and evaluating social, health, and education programs from a variety of perspectives, including community psychology, developmental psychology and aging, health and rehabilitation psychology, neuropsychology, industrial/organizational psychology, and consumer psychology, among them. A special feature of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research are Web Appendixes that include a variety of research applications (e.g., SPSS, SAS, Mplus, GIS) and detailed guidelines on how to run the applications for analyzing the accompanying data sets.
Qualitative Methods in Public Health by
A real-world guide to conducting rigorous qualitative research Qualitative Methods in Public Health: A Field Guide for Applied Research provides a practical orientation to conducting effective qualitative research in the public health sphere. With thorough examination and simple explanations, this book guides you through the logic and workflow of qualitative approaches, with step-by-step guidance on every phase of the research. Students learn how to identify and make use of theoretical frameworks to guide your study, design the study to answer specific questions, and achieve their research goals. Data collection, analysis, and interpretation are given close attention as the backbone of a successful study, and expert insight on reporting and dissemination helps you get your work noticed. This second edition features new examples from global health, including case studies specifically illustrating study design, web and mobile technologies, mixed methods, and new innovations in information dissemination. Pedagogical tools have been added to help enhance your understanding of research design and implementation, and extensive appendices show you how these concepts work in practice. Qualitative research is a powerful tool for public health, but it′s very easy to get it wrong. Careful study design and data management are critical, and it′s important to resist drawing conclusions that the data cannot support. This book shows you how to conduct high-quality qualitative research that stands up to review. Design robust qualitative studies and collect the appropriate data Translate your data into words without sacrificing accuracy Merge qualitative and quantitative data to tell the whole story Master the logistics of consent, interviews, focus groups, and more Effective public health programs require insight into the different contexts that affect behavior. A thorough understanding and appropriate application of qualitative research strategies is the difference between relevant and credible conclusions and pseudoscience. Qualitative Methods in Public Health shows you how to get it right every step of the way.
How to Report Statistics in Medicine by
This new edition makes many of the basic and advanced concepts of biostatistics more accessible to readers. It is one of the few books that focus on how appropriate statistical presentation can enhance both comprehension and credibility. This is a perfect reference guide for those with either a rudimentary or an advanced statistical background.
Innovative Statistical Methods for Public Health Data by
The book brings together experts working in public health and multi-disciplinary areas to present recent issues in statistical methodological development and their applications. This timely book will impact model development and data analyses of public health research across a wide spectrum of analysis. Data and software used in the studies are available for the reader to replicate the models and outcomes. The fifteen chapters range in focus from techniques for dealing with missing data with Bayesian estimation, health surveillance and population definition and implications in applied latent class analysis, to multiple comparison and meta-analysis in public health data. Researchers in biomedical and public health research will find this book to be a useful reference and it can be used in graduate level classes.
Making Data Talk by
The demand for health information continues to increase, but the ability of health professionals to provide it clearly remains variable. The aim of this book is (1) to summarize and synthesize research on the selection and presentation of data pertinent to public health, and (2) to provide practical suggestions, based on this research summary and synthesis, on how scientists and other public health practitioners can better communicate data to the public, policy makers, and the press in typical real-world situations. Because communication is complex and no one approach works for all audiences, the authors emphasize how to communicate data "better" (and in some instances, contrast this with how to communicate data "worse"), rather than attempting a cookbook approach. The book contains a wealth of case studies and other examples to illustrate major points, and actual situations whenever possible. Key principles and recommendations are summarized at the end of each chapter. This book will stimulate interest among public health practitioners, scholars, and students to more seriously consider ways they can understand and improve communication about data and other types of scientific information with the public, policy makers, and the press. Improved data communication will increase the chances that evidence-based scientific findings can play a greater role in improving the public's health.
Methods of Demographic Analysis by
This book provides an up-to-date overview of demographic analysis and methods, including recent developments in demography. Concepts and methods, from the nature of demographic information through data collection and the basics of statistical measures and on to demographic analysis itself are succinctly explained. Measures and analyses of fertility, mortality, life tables, migration and demographic events such as marriage, education and labour force are described while later chapters cover multiple decrement tables, population projections, the importance of testing and smoothing demographic data, the stable population model and demographic software. An emphasis on practical aspects and the use of real-life examples based on data from around the globe make this book accessible, whilst comprehensive references and links to data and other resources on the internet help readers to explore further. The text is concise and well written, making it ideally suited to a wider audience from students to academics and teachers. Students of demography, geography, sociology, economics, as well as professionals, academics and students of marketing, human resource management, and public health who have an interest in population issues will all find this book useful.
Access Knowledge Base
Phone 617-636-6705
Email hhsl@tufts.edu
Text 617-477-8493Desk Hours: M-F 7:45am-5pm