Recommended Databases
SMFA Print Periodicals
- The comics journalPrint issues available at the SMFA Library, Tisch, and online.
- Film quarterlyPrint issues available at the SMFA Library
- Film quarterlyOnline issues
SMFA Online Periodicals
- AnimationOnline issues
- Computer animation and virtual worldsOnline Issues
- Animation journalOnline issues
- Journal of visualization and computer animationOnline issues
Want to browse the stacks? Look at these call numbers
| N6494.V53 | Video art |
| NC1765 – 1766 | Animated films |
| PN1993 – 1999 | Motion pictures |
| TR897.5 - 897.7 | Animated motion pictures |
| TR899 - 899.5 | Editing of motion pictures |
Books about animation
CyberArts 2021 by
The Prix Ars Electronica is one of the most prestigious prizes in media art, since 1987. The jury of experts includes Computer/Film/VFX, Digital Musics & Sound Art or Artificial Intelligence & Life Art.
Call Number: SMFA : N7433.8 .C95 2021ISBN: 9783775751414
Expanded Animation: the Anthology by
The symposium Expanded Animation was initiated in 2013 and offered a first approach to the expanded field of computer animation. In the meantime, it has become an established part of the Ars Electronica Animation Festival and the international competition Prix Ars Electronica Computer Animation. Every year under an overarching theme, the symposium has researched the field of technology and art, animation and aesthetics, investigated the collapsing boundaries in digital animation and explored positions and future trends. Much like the first conferences on computer animation at Ars Electronica in the 1980s, practice and theory are equally important. The richly illustrated publication Expanded Animation. The Anthology features contributions from speakers and artist positions from the past five years and presents an overview of the prize winners in Computer Animation.
Call Number: N7433.8 .E953 2019
Frame by Frame by
At publication date, a free ebook version of this title will be available through Luminos, University of California Press's Open Access publishing program. Visit www.luminosoa.org to learn more. In this beautifully written and deeply researched study, Hannah Frank provides an original way to understand American animated cartoons from the Golden Age of animation (1920-1960). In the pre-digital age of the twentieth century, the making of cartoons was mechanized and standardized: thousands of drawings were inked and painted onto individual transparent celluloid sheets (called "cels") and then photographed in succession, a labor-intensive process that was divided across scores of artists and technicians. In order to see the art, labor, and technology of cel animation, Frank slows cartoons down to look frame by frame, finding hitherto unseen aspects of the animated image. What emerges is both a methodology and a highly original account of an art formed on the assembly line.
Call Number: NC1765 .F65 2019 and eBook
Hayao Miyazaki by
A richly illustrated journey through the extraordinary cinematic worlds of beloved filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki A New York Magazine 2021 holiday gift guide pick For over four decades, Hayao Miyazaki has been enchanting audiences of all ages. His animated films, often featuring children navigating unfamiliar and challenging worlds, offer timeless explorations of youth and what it means to grow up. Celebrated and admired around the globe for his artistic vision, craftsmanship and deeply humanistic values, Miyazaki has influenced generations of artists. The universal appeal of his evocative natural settings and complex characters, many among them strong girls and young women, cuts across cultural boundaries. This book is published on the occasion of the 2021 inaugural exhibition at the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures in Los Angeles, in collaboration with Studio Ghibli in Tokyo. It accompanies the first ever retrospective dedicated to the legendary filmmaker in North America and introduces hundreds of original production materials, including artworks never before seen outside of Studio Ghibli's archives. Concept sketches, character designs, storyboards, layouts, backgrounds and production cels from his early career through all 11 of his feature films, including My Neighbor Totoro (1988), Kiki's Delivery Service (1989), Princess Mononoke (1997), Spirited Away (2001) and Howl's Moving Castle (2004), offer insight into Miyazaki's creative process and masterful animation techniques.
Call Number: SMFA Library: PN1998.3.M577 H39 2021
Heidi Kumao by
Heidi Kumao: Real and Imagined documents and contextualizes narrative fabric works and animations from Kumao's 2020 solo exhibition at the University of Michigan's Stamps Gallery. Using fabric cutouts and stitching of everyday objects, Kumao invents a tactile visual vocabulary that distills unspoken aspects of ordinary exchanges into accessible narrative images. Weaving in her experiences as an Asian American woman, artist, and educator, Kumao creates poetic and playful open-ended visual haikus, generating a range of associations to current events, gender roles, and institutional power structures. Captured midstream, interactions from intimate relationships, medical procedures, the workplace, and the political sphere are suspended in time within felt film stills. Real and Imagined presents the reader with an opportunity to experience this remarkable oeuvre of over thirty fabric works and video animations. For over thirty years, Kumao has developed an expanded art practice that includes animations, video installations, photographs, machine art, and fabric works that give physical form to the intangible parts of our lives: our emotions, psychological states, memories, thinking patterns. Her hybrid artworks have included electromechanical girl's legs that "misbehave," video installations about surviving confinement, surreal, experimental stop motion puppet animations, performative staged photographs, and hand crafted cinema machines. She has exhibited her award-winning artwork in solo and group exhibitions nationally and internationally including the Art Science Museum Singapore, Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona, the Museum of Image and Sound (São Paulo) and the Museum of Modern Art in Buenos Aires. Her work is in permanent and private collections including the Houston Museum of Fine Arts, Arizona State University Art Museum, the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Exploratorium in San Francisco. She has received fellowships and grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Creative Capital Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. She is a professor at the Stamps School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. This exhibition catalogue marks the first significant publication on Kumao's work and includes a selection of works from across her career. It includes written contributions by: Srimoyee Mitra, curator and Director of the Stamps Gallery and NYC-based art critic; Wendy Vogel; an interview between the artist and writer Lynn Love; and poems by the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize Award winner Marilyn Chin.
Call Number: SMFA: N6537.K863 A4 2022
La imagen trascendental : estudios teóricos sobre anime y manga by
This book interrogates, from an interdisciplinary perspective, the scope, effects, discourses and aesthetics that account for the undeniable cultural impact in Western cultures of the Japanese anime and manga, evident in most of the world. Whether it is the graphic narrative, animation, cinema, videogames, the Internet, virtual reality or even artificial intelligence; where the image, impregnated by the aesthetics of anime and manga, reactivates and reedits, both the exhausted media supports, and the founding myths of the world, without neglecting the narratives. "This book ultimately aims to transit from a visual colonialism, typical of the theological complex of the West, to the polytheistic infinity of anime and manga. Rationalist positivism can no longer continue its path ignoring the imagination, imaginaries and images of anime and manga, because without a doubt, the specular force they produce is nothing more than the creative force of the human imagination." (HKB Translation) --Page 15.
Call Number: SMFA: NC1764.5.J3 I43 2022
Manga by
Manga is a visual form of narrative storytelling. Its roots are international, but the form as we know it today developed in Japan between the late 19th and early 20th centuries and has recently achieved global reach. Originally confined to comics, prints and graphic novels, manga has expanded to influence animation, fashion, gaming, street art and new media. It is a multi-billion pound industry, popular with people of all ages in Japan and increasingly all over the world, encompassing hundreds of genres, from sports, love, horror and ageing to global threats and sexual identity. There is a manga for everyone. For manga fans, this book celebrates the excitement of manga's cross-cultural appeal and its long history of breaking barriers. For those new to manga, it offers the chance to become literate in what is fast becoming a universal visual grammar of our globalized age. Arranged into six thematic chapters, with essays by leading scholars, this volume showcases the work of Japan's most influential manga-ka (manga creators) past and present, with printed manga extracts, original drawings, manga magazines, theatre, film, digital technologies and exclusive interviews with artists, editors and publishers. The first chapter focuses on understanding how manga is read, drawn and produced. The second explores its power of storytelling, and presentation of reality; the third, the power of manga to depict many different worlds, both seen and unseen. The fourth shifts the attention from the art form to its role in society, including fan groups, grassroots manga, Comiket events and the importance of cosplay. The penultimate chapter discusses the roots of modern manga in the work of 19th-century artists such as Hokusai and Kyosai, while the final chapter examines manga's expansion into the avant-garde, its crossover into other media and its growing international reach and influence. Published in conjunction with a landmark, cutting-edge exhibition at the British Museum, this is manga as Western audiences have never before seen it: diverse yet universally familiar, traditional yet intensely modern, rooted in the 2D printed page but effortlessly leaping out of it.
Call Number: PN6790.J3 M36 2019
Timing for Animation 40th Anniversary Edition by
Timing for Animation has been one of the pillars of animation since it was first published in 1981. Now this 40th anniversary edition captures the focus of the original and enhances this new edition with fresh images, techniques, and advice from world-renowned animators. Not only does the text explore timing in traditional animation, but also timing in digital works. Vibrant illustrations and clear directions line the pages to help depict the various methods and procedures to bring your animation to life. Examples include timing for digital production, digital storyboarding in 2D, digital storyboarding in 3D, and the use of After Effects, as well as interactive games, television, animals, and more. Learn how animated scenes should be arranged in relation to each other, how much space should be used, and how long each drawing should be shown for maximum dramatic effect. All you need to breathe life into your animation is at your fingertips with Timing for Animation. Key Features: Fully revised and updated with modern examples and techniques Explores the fundamentals of timing, physics, and animation Perfect for the animation novice and the expert Get straight to the good stuff with simple, no-nonsense instruction on the key techniques like stretch and squash, animated cycles, overlapping, and anticipation. Trying to time weight, mood, and power can make or break an animation--get it right the first time with these tried and tested techniques. Authors Harold Whitaker was a BAFTA-nominated professional animator and educator for 40 years; many of his students number among today's most outstanding animation artists. John Halas, known as "The father of British animation" and formerly of Halas & Batchelor Animation Studio, produced more than 2,000 animation films, including the legendary Animal Farm (1954) and the award-winning Dilemma (1981). He was also the founder and president of the International Animated Film Association (ASIFA) and former Chairman of the British Federation of Film Societies. Tom Sito is Professor of Animation at the University of Southern California and has written numerous books and articles on animation. Tom's screen credits include Shrek (2001) and the Disney classics Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988), The Little Mermaid (1989), Beauty and the Beast (1991), Aladdin (1992), and The Lion King (1994). In 1998, Tom was named by Animation Magazine as one of the 100 Most Important People in Animation.
Call Number: SMFA: TR897.5 .W63 2021
SMFA Library DVDs
L'animation indépendante japonaise. Volume 1Call Number: SMFA DVD Collection DVD-681 ANI
L'animation indépendante japonaise. Volume 2Call Number: SMFA DVD Collection DVD-682 ANI
Animation expressCall Number: SMFA DVD Collection DVD-429 ANI
Giants' first stepsCall Number: SMFA DVD Collection DVD-390 GIA
