Papermaking and Paper Sculpture

The Allure of Matter by Orianna Cacchione; Christine Mehring; Trevor Smith; Wu Hung From the 1980s, many Chinese artists have experimented with a range of unconventional materials. Their works-in plastic, paper, silk, ash, and tobacco-form a major trend in Chinese art. The Allure of Matter offers the first serious consideration of these ground-breaking material explorations, coining the term Material Art to describe works that place "matter" itself as the primary vehicle of investigation and expression. The book contains four ground-breaking essays, profiles of twenty-five artists, and corresponding color images. Exhibition: LACMA County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, USA (02.06.2019 - 05.01.2020) / Smart Museum of Art, Chicago, USA (06.02.-03.05.2020) / Seattle Art Museum, USA (25.06.-12.09.2020) / Peabody Essex Museum, Salem, USA (14.11.2020-21.02.2021).

The Art and Art Therapy of Papermaking by Drew Matott (Editor); Gretchen Miller (Editor) The Art and Art Therapy of Papermaking: Material, Methods, and Applications provides a comprehensive collection about the contemporary practices, media, and value of hand papermaking as social engagement, art therapy, and personal voice. Divided into three sections that highlight each of these areas, contributors explore topics such as advocacy, work with survivors, community outreach, medical challenges, and how papermaking can empower creative expression, stories of change, recovery, and reclamation to address trauma, grief and loss, social action, as well as life experiences. Previous books have covered hand papermaking or art therapy media as stand-alone subjects; this text is the first of its kind that unites and describes the convergence of papermaking in all these forms. Art therapists, art educators, and artists will find this book essential to their education about how papermaking can be a powerful process to make meaning for the self, groups, and community.

European Hand Papermaking by Timothy D. Barrett "In this important and long-awaited book, Timothy Barrett, internationally known authority in hand papermaking and Director of the University of Iowa Center for the Book, offers the first comprehensive "how-to" book about traditional European hand papermaking since Dard Hunter's renowned reference, Papermaking: The History and Technique of an Ancient Craft. This book, which includes an appendix on mould and deckle construction by Timothy Moore, is aimed at a variety of audiences: artisans and craftspeople wishing to make paper or to manufacture papermaking tools and equipment, paper and book conservators seeking detailed information about paper-production techniques, and other readers with a desire to understand the intricacies of the craft. European Hand Papermaking is the companion volume to Barrett's Japanese Papermaking - Traditions, Tools and Techniques."--Publisher's description

Hanji Unfurled by Aimee Lee "With a history of well over 1,500 years, Korean handmade paper, known as hanji, is familiar to Koreans but a mystery outside its home country. This lustrous paper that comes in a wide array of thickness, color, dimension, and translucency was once a coveted item inside and beyond Korean borders. Made by farmers and artisans during bitter cold winters, hanji was a noble marker of the literati who demanded high-quality paper for books, documents, calligraphy, and painting. Hanji also played a sacred role as the support for illuminated sutras, the body of temple decorations, and spirit of rituals where it was burned in hopes that its ashes would rise to the sky. Fashioned into objects that ranged from kites to armor to shrouds to chamber pots, there was seemingly no end to the possibilities of the combination of human ingenuity and paper through the transformation of natural fibers, until forces of history and industrialization collided and left this once-celebrated substrate and its related craft practices near extinction. In this first English-language book about hanji, Aimee Lee shares her experience as a Korean-American artist and Fulbright fellow on her search for a traditional Korean papermaking teacher. Of the handful of American hanji researchers, she is the only one to have interacted with Koreans in their own language while simultaneously learning the craft. This book follows her journey as she met papermakers, scholars, and artists from bustling cities to traditional Korean villages to Buddhist temples to island outposts. Not only did she encounter the few remaining papermakers who still practice webal tteugi, the indigenous Korean sheet-formation method, but she found teachers of a whole array of allied crafts that include jiseung--cording and weaving hanji, joomchi--texturing and felting hanji, natural dyeing, and calligraphy. She traveled from the studios of living treasures to the homes of ordinary Koreans, illuminating an often-misunderstood culture through stories from its keepers of traditional heritage"-- Publisher's description.

Modern Papermaking by Kelsey Pike (Contribution by) The ultimate guide to papermaking Making your own paper is a mesmerizing and versatile craft. Let Modern Papermaking show you how to create countless paper sheets with a few tools and practice. Among many other things, the paper you make can be a foundation for painting, illustration, stationery, and lettering. Handmade paper can upgrade the starting point of your creative work, or you can use the techniques to create stand-alone works of art to display, gift, and share. The craft is relatively easy and accessible since all the essential tools and supplies can be DIY'd, recycled, and thrifted. Includes 13 projects, ranging from bold and eye-catching to professional and fine-art quality Get tips and practical advice on selling your one-of-a-kind paper collections for other makers to use in their 2D work. With an endless variety of add-ins and decorative techniques, papermaking is an infinitely entertaining skill.

Papermaking with Garden Plants and Common Weeds by Helen Hiebert Handmade paper has a unique texture and an individual quality that makes it not only a surface to write or print on, but also an object of beauty. With a small investment in equipment (or the supplies to make it from scratch), a small harvest of backyard weeds or garden plants, and the guidance of papermaking expert Helen Hiebert, anyone can make exquisite papers right in the home kitchen.

Paper Sculpture by Richard Sweeney Paper is a readily available and inexpensive sculptural media. Pliable, ephemeral and easily manipulated with simple tools, it is a medium with which the artist can form three-dimensional shapes quickly through precise folding and cutting. Richard Sweeney is a British artist and designer who has exhibited his extraordinary paper sculptures all over the world. His aim in Fluid Forms is to show how the basic principles of form-making in paper can be useful for artists, architects and fashion designers. Once mastered, these can then be expanded on and explored with the help of Sweeneys step-by-step analysis of the techniques he uses in the creation of his work. Sweeney leads you through the three stages of his process, from the initial conceptual stage (whether drawing on natural or architectural forms for inspiration), to the basic shapes (modular, in column, or dynamic), and finally to the folding techniques, curved folding, parallel pleating, faceted pleating and radiating pleating. The author also discusses tools and types of paper best suited for this art form.

Pulp Fashion by Jill D'Alessandro; Isabelle De Borchgrave; Legion of Honor (San Francisco, Calif.) Staff (Contribution by) The intricately handcrafted paper fashions of Belgian artist Isabelle de Borchgrave will astound readers with their artistry, creativity, and resemblance to the finest couture designs. Elizabethan gowns, Renaissance finery, and Fortuny pleats, as well as elaborate headpieces, cascading flowers, and exquisite footwear, are all part of Isabelle de Borchgrave’s oeuvre. The companion volume to a major museum exhibition, this book highlights three of de Borchgrave’s most beloved series: Papiers à la Mode and the Fortuny and Medici collections. A special section focuses on the making of a new work inspired by a portrait in the collection of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco. Full-color illustrations of her historically inspired works reveal the painstaking detail that goes into each piece and the whimsical magic that transforms a simple material into the most luxurious of garments. Broad in its appeal, this lovely volume will fascinate anyone interested in fashion, costume history, paper, and design.

Pure Pulp by Bridget Donlon; Tracy L. Adler (Contribution by); Kathleen Flynn (Contribution by); Richard Tuttle (Contribution by); Rachel Wolff (Contribution by) Catalog of an exhibition 'Pure Pulp: Contemporary Artists Working in Paper at Dieu Donné on a diverse range of sculpture, books, and two dimensional works created over the last fifteen years at Dieu Donné the iconic New York City papermaking studio. The exhibition features works by twenty artists who have participated in the organization's Workspace and Lab Grant residency programs.

Radical Paper by Lynn Sures; Michelle Samour Authors/artists Lynn Sures and Michelle Samour introduce and expand this incredibly versatile medium to artists, curators, collectors, art historians, and the broader public through personal and technical essays and full-color images that highlight the dynamic scope and inventiveness of todays leading practitioners.

Solo(s): Krista Franklin by Krista Franklin; Ionit Behar (Editor) A catalog of visual art and poetry by Chicago-based artist Krista Franklin.   Published on the occasion of a 2022 exhibition at DePaul Art Museum in Chicago, Solo(s): Krista Franklin brings together the visual, performance, and poetic practice of Chicago-based artist Krista Franklin in one volume. Part poetry collection and part artist book, Solo(s) features documentation of Franklin's ongoing collage work, handmade paper, book and record covers, and installations as well as her poetry and other writing.   Featuring a new essay by curator Ionit Behar, Solo(s) explores Franklin's practice as it intersects with collaborators across the disciplines of music, literature, and visual art.  

A Song of Praise for Shifu by Susan J. Byrd Susan J. Byrd presents a comprehensive description of shifu--a Japanese textile woven from thread made with paper. This is complemented by an historical overview of the many uses of shifu through past centuries. Also included is detailed information about making the paper and thread from the sheet, spinning and weaving, as well as dyeing the thread and the finished textile with natural dyes.

Times reimagined by Chun, Kwang-Young "Published in conjunction with the project Times Reimagined, a collateral event of the 59th International Art Exhibition - La Biennale di Venezia ... at Palazzo Contarini Polignac in Venice, from April 23rd to November 27th, 2022"--Colophon.

Washi Transformed by Marschall MCARTHUR "Washi paper has been used as a base for Japanese calligraphy, painting, and printmaking as well as a material in architecture, religious ritual and clothing. Contemporary Japanese artists have turned this supple yet sturdy paper into an artistic medium. Contemporary artists from Japan, France, and the United States. Artists discussed include Hina Aoyama, Eriko, Horiki, Kyoko Ibe, Yoshio Ikezaki, Kakuko Ishii, Yuko Kimura, Yuko Nishimura, Takaaki Tanaka, and Ayomi Yoshida"-- Provided by publisher.