Empire Online brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.
The British politics and society collection includes tens of thousands of primary sources related to the political climate in Great Britain during the long nineteenth century. Topics include British domestic and foreign policy, trade unions, Chartism, utopian socialism, public protest, radical movements, the cartographic record, political reform, education, family relationships, religion, leisure and many others. Primary sources include manuscripts, maps, drawings, newspapers, periodicals, government correspondence, letters, diaries, photographs, poster, pamphlets and more.
This archive will enable students and scholars to examine a selection of records that constitute a political and social history of Western interaction with a number of Asian countries during the nineteenth century. Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals.
English Historical Documents
500-1914 in 10 volumes
Print: Tisch Book Stacks DA26 .E55 1996
v. 1. c. 500-1042 / edited by D. Whitelock -- v. 2. 1042-1189 / edited by David C. Douglas and George W. Greenaway -- v, 3, 1189-1327 / edited by Harry Rothwell -- v. 4. 1327-1485 / edited by A.R. Myers -- v. 5. 1485-1558 / edited by C.H. Williams -- v. 6. 1660-1714 / edited by Andrew Browning -- v. 7. 1714-1783 / edited by D.B. Horn and Mary Ransome -- v. 8. 1783-1832 / edited by A. Aspinall and E. Anthony Smith -- v. 9. 1833-1874 / edited by G.M. Young and W.D. Handcock -- v. 10. 1874-1914 / edited by W.D. Handcock.
Full-text searching of digital facsimile images of literature on economy and business. Includes some very early publications published for the Federal Government before the Government Printing Office started printing. See the help section of the US Congressional Serial Set for a list of printers.
The most important and comprehensive collection of early English-language newspapers, dating from 1603. A full-text digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides collected by the Reverend Doctor Charles Burney (1757-1817), preserved and augmented by the British Library.
Complete runs of 48 newspapers specially selected to best represent 19th Century Britain: London's national and regional newspapers; those from established country or university towns as well as the new industrial centers of the Midlands; and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present
Digital primary source collection of more than 20,000 pamphlets digitized from research universities in the United Kingdom. A wide range of topics are covered, focusing on political and economic life in 19th century Britain. While the bulk of the collection is from the 19th century, there are some pamphlets included going back to 1545. Specific collections include: Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, etc.
British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through the Victorian age and beyond. Topics covered in Collection I include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Collection II topics include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. Data will be added monthly until the entire period of 1785-1985 is available.