Primary Source Databases and Collections
- ARTstorARTstor is an image database of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, and archaeological and anthropological objects--with associated catalog data--from many major collections.
- ArtifactImage study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History.
- Art Institute of ChicagoSearch Chicago's collections to see Jesus depicted in paintings, sculptures, and much more.
- The British MuseumSearch the British Museum's collections to see Jesus depicted in paintings, sculptures, and much more.
- The GettySearch the Getty's collections to see Jesus depicted in paintings, sculptures, and much more.
- Film Index InternationalFilmography and biographical source compiled by the British Film Institute for over 125,000 films. Includes coverage of international film awards and prizes, plot summaries, and film credits.
- Index of Medieval ArtThe Index records works of art from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550. There is a particular emphasis on art of the Western world, but with significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Met's extensive collection includes paintings, sculpture, and other material objects that depict Jesus through the centuries.
- Museum of Fine ArtsSearch the MFA's collections to see Jesus depicted in paintings, sculptures, and much more.
- Museum of Modern ArtSearch MoMA's collections to see Jesus depicted in paintings, sculptures, and much more
- Musée du LouvreSearch the Louvre's collections to see Jesus depicted in paintings, sculptures, and much more.
- TroveImage study website of the Tufts Department of Art & Art History.
- Uffizi GallerySearch the Uffizi's collections to see Jesus depicted in paintings, sculptures, and much more.
Films at Tisch Library
NOTE: You can check out an external DVD drive to watch these DVDS on your computer.
Ben HurCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997 .B4648 2005Publication Date: 1959A peace-loving prince of Judea leads his nation against the wrath of the conquering Romans. His self-imposed destiny brings tragedy to himself and his people.
Cristus: a reverent portrayal of the life of our SaviourCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997 .C7578 2011Publication Date: 1916The early Italian epic with amazing production values that rival any Griffith project of the time. Filmed on location in the holy land.
Jesus Christ, Vampire HunterCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997.2 .J47869 2002Publication Date: 2002Jesus is called back to earth by a mohawked preacher and finds himself the target of a horde of Kung Fu-fighting vampires wreaking havoc in downtown Ottawa.
Jesus Christ SuperstarCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997 .J4786 1999Publication Date: 1973Based on the rock opera Jesus Christ Superstar, book and lyrics by Tim Rice, music by Andrew Lloyd Webber.
Jesus of NazarethCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997 .J4787 2000Publication Date: 1977Originally broadcast as a television mini-series in 1977.
The King of KingsCall Number: Streaming VideoPublication Date: 1927The Greatest Story Ever Told as only Cecil B. DeMille could tell it. In 1927, working with one of the biggest budgets in Hollywood history, DeMille spun the life and Passion of Christ into a silent-era blockbuster.
The Last Temptation of ChristCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997 .L37878 2000Publication Date: 1988In Martin Scorcese's controversial movie, Jesus, as both fully human and fully divine, is viewed as free of sin but subject to all temptations, including sexual ones.
Life of BrianCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997 .L54455 1999Publication Date: 1979The Pythons satirize religion, capital punishment, revolutionary politics, terrorism, graffiti, science fiction, and a host of other topics through the story of Brian, a first-century Judean.
The Passion of the ChristCall Number: DVD Collections PN1997.2 .P37755 2004Publication Date: 2004Mel Gibson's controversial epic depicts the last twelve hours in the life of Jesus of Nazareth.