LibGuides: Health Information and Analytics: Health Data sources

What is Data Collection?

The process of gathering information in a meaningful and reliable manner. Examples include reviewing medical records or personnel files, conducting interviews, or performing environmental measurements

(2014). Data Collection. In Porta, M. (Ed.), A Dictionary of Epidemiology. : Oxford University Press,. Retrieved 14 Mar. 2019, from http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199976720.001.0001/acref-9780199976720-e-2112.

GIS and Mapping

GIS at Tufts
Health Related Data
CDC-GIS
The spatial aspects of health and illness
Chronic Disease Map Gallery
An evolving series of maps designed to address chronic diseases, plus more.
500 Hundred Cities Project
Previously the 500 Cities Project, PLACES provides provides "chronic disease and other health-related data for all U.S. counties, incorporated and census designated places, census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs)."
AtlasPlus
An interactive tool that gives users the ability to create customized tables, maps, and charts using more than 15 years of CDC’s surveillance data on HIV, viral hepatitis, STD, and TB. AtlasPlus also provides access to indicators on social determinants of health (SDOH) allowing users to view social and economic data in conjunction with surveillance data for each disease.

Data Sets

HealthData.gov
Data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse
HRSA Data Warehouse
The data.HRSA.gov website (previously known as the HRSA Data Warehouse) provides maps, data, reports, and dashboards to the public about HRSA’s health care programs. The data integrates with external sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, providing information about HRSA’s grants, loan and scholarship programs, health centers, and other public health programs and services.
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources
A free searchable catalog of research datasets, instruments and software relevant to health services research, behavioral and social sciences, and public health.
Partners in Information Access for Public Health Workforce
PHPartners was a "web portal and current awareness service of information for the public health workforce. Alerts the communities to meetings, webinars, new web-born reports (analyses, statistics), datasets, and general news." Retired 2021.
AHRQuality Indicators
National Cancer Institute
The SEER research data include SEER incidence and population data associated by age, sex, race, year of diagnosis, and geographic areas (including SEER registry and county).
WHO Global Observatory Data

More Data

CDC Wonder
Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
Guttmacher Institute
Build, download and share custom tables, graphs and maps utilizing data on key sexual and reproductive health indicators from the Guttmacher Institute and other trusted sources.
Pan American Health Organizzation
Indicators, analysis, health topics
Health Center Program GeoCare Navigator
"a tool to health centers and other stakeholders to evaluate geographic reach, penetration, and growth of the Health Center Program and its relationship to other federally linked health resources." It provides a map view and data table view to evaluate information for applications of New Access Point, Service Area Competition, Look-Alike, and Change in Scope.