This database covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
This database is a compilation of curated peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards. It includes studies of wildlife, companion, and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect could be considered potentially relevant to human health.
This database includes engineering and public health journals from Portuguese and Spanish-speaking countries. Not all articles are in English, however most abstracts are. This is a good source for regionally-focused health issues.
A large multidisciplinary database covering Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
This website provides information on public health assessments of waste sites, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances.
AIHA is an international association serving occupational and environmental health and safety (OEHS) professionals practicing industrial hygiene by maintaining the professional standards and providing resources for its members.
This website includes links to CDC data and materials on environmental health-related topics including:Air Pollution & Respiratory Health, Air Quality, Asthma, Community Exposures to Hazardous Substances, Healthy Places, Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals, and Water.
Spearheaded by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), the Health Community Design Initiative focuses on improved community design as a means of combating asthma, diabetes, and obesity.
This site explains the use of Health Impact Assessment (HIA), a process that helps evaluate the potential health effects of a plan, project or policy before it is built or implemented. The site also describes the major steps in conducting an HIA and links to HIAs completed or in progress in the United States.
Seeks to develop and apply new knowledge in the occupational safety and health field. This site consists of various workplace safety and health topics, data and statistics, and links to publications and reports.
Consists of information on the civilian use of radioactive materials to provide reasonable assurance of adequate protection of public health and safety, to promote the common defense and security, and to protect the environment.
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources, including environmental health.
These fact sheets contain information about pure substances on health hazards, exposure limits, personal protective equipment, proper handling, first aid, and emergency procedures for fires and spills.
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
TOXMAP is a Geographic Information System (GIS) from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that uses maps of the United States to help users visually explore data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Superfund Programs. TOXMAP allows users to search for specific regions by city, state or zip code.
Consists of information on food safety recalls and features topics on animals, biotechnology, broadband, climate solutions, conservation, data, disaster, farming, food & nutrition, forestry, health & safety, opioids, organic, plants, recreation, research & science, rural and trade
EU-OSHA promotes risk prevention to improve working conditions in Europe. This site consists of common themes (topics), emerging risks, surveys & statistics, legislation, campaigns & awards, and tools & publications.
Statistical data compiled by the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.