LibGuides: PH 202: Public Health Assessment: Data, Determinants, and Systems : Environmental and Occupational Health

Article Databases

Search these databases for articles on a specific topic:

CAB Abstracts
This database covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
Canary Database
This database is a compilation of curated peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards. It includes studies of wildlife, companion, and livestock animals, where either the exposure or the health effect could be considered potentially relevant to human health.

Canary Database is no longer operating and can be found through this link on the Wayback Machine.
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
This database comprises multiple data files, such as Health & Safety Science Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, and Risk Abstracts.
SciELO (Scientific electronic library online)
This database includes engineering and public health journals from Portuguese and Spanish-speaking countries. Not all articles are in English, however most abstracts are. This is a good source for regionally-focused health issues.
Scopus
A large multidisciplinary database covering Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings.

U.S. Resources

Agency for Toxic Substances Disease Registry
This website provides information on public health assessments of waste sites, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances.
American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA)
AIHA is an international association serving occupational and environmental health and safety (OEHS) professionals practicing industrial hygiene by maintaining the professional standards and providing resources for its members.
Bureau of Labor Statistics, Injuries, Illnesses, Fatalities
Provides information on measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy
CDC: National Center for Environmental Health
This website includes links to CDC data and materials on environmental health-related topics including:Air Pollution & Respiratory Health, Air Quality, Asthma, Community Exposures to Hazardous Substances, Healthy Places, Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals, and Water.
CDC: Healthy Places and Health Planning
Spearheaded by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), the Healthy Places initiative focuses on improved community design as a means to "provide people opportunities to make choices amid various healthy, available, accessible, and affordable options."
Food and Drug Administration
Provides information on the regulation of food, drugs, medical devices, radiation-emitting products, vaccines, blood, and biologics, animal and veterinary, cosmetics, and tobacco products.
Health Effects Institute (HEI)
A nonprofit independent research organization providing high-quality, impartial, and relevant science on the health effects of air pollution
Health Impact Assessment
This site explains the use of Health Impact Assessment (HIA), a process that helps evaluate the potential health effects of a plan, project or policy before it is built or implemented. The site also describes the major steps in conducting an HIA and links to HIAs completed or in progress in the United States.
IRIS - Integrated Risk Information System/ EPA
EPA's Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) is a human health assessment program that evaluates information on health effects that may result from exposure to environmental contaminants.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
This website provides resources for scientists, as well as brochures and fact sheets on several environmental health topics.
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
Seeks to develop and apply new knowledge in the occupational safety and health field. This site consists of various workplace safety and health topics, data and statistics, and links to publications and reports.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Consists of information on the civilian use of radioactive materials to provide reasonable assurance of adequate protection of public health and safety, to promote the common defense and security, and to protect the environment.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
This website provides data and statistics, as well as U.S. regulations, enforcement information, training materials, and publications related to safe working conditions.
Right to Know Hazardous Substances Fact Sheets
These fact sheets contain information about pure substances on health hazards, exposure limits, personal protective equipment, proper handling, first aid, and emergency procedures for fires and spills.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) website is devoted to health and safety aspects of environmental issues.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Consists of information on food safety recalls and features topics on animals, biotechnology, broadband, climate solutions, conservation, data, disaster, farming, food & nutrition, forestry, health & safety, opioids, organic, plants, recreation, research & science, rural and trade
Toxic Release Inventory
A resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities

International Resources

European Agency for Safety and Health at Work
EU-OSHA promotes risk prevention to improve working conditions in Europe. This site consists of common themes (topics), emerging risks, surveys & statistics, legislation, campaigns & awards, and tools & publications.
International Labour Organization –– Safety and Health at Work
Provides information about occupational safety and health, as well as labour administration and labour inspection
WHO: Environmental Health
Features resources on environmental health produced by the World Health Organization (WHO).
WHO: Occupational Health
Promotes the improvement of working conditions and other aspects of environmental hygiene.
WHO: Urban Health
Features resources on urban health produced by the World Health Organization (WHO).
World Development Indicators
Statistical data compiled by the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Need Help?

Ask Us

Access Knowledge Base
Phone 617-636-6705
Email hhsl@tufts.edu
Text 617-477-8493

Desk Hours: M-F 7:45am-5pm