PH 202: Public Health Assessment: Data, Determinants, and Systems

Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau, This is a tool to help users navigate data from the U.S. Census. This tool offers users options for both guided and advanced searches.

Coordinated by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. World’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the US.

Sponsored by the National Cancer Institute and other federal agencies, this portal links to resources that can assist in:
- Assessing the cancer and/or risk factor burden within a given state.
- Identifying potential partners that may already be working with high-risk populations.
- Understanding the current research findings and recommendations.
-Accessing and downloading evidence-based programs and products.
-Finding guidelines for planning and evaluation.

The CDC is the primary federal stakeholder for preventative health for the United States. The CDC gathers health status and behavior data through surveillance and surveys. The CDC promotes interventions with demonstrated effectiveness and provides public-health information about the scope of diseases and conditions on the health of Americans.

Created by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, "The Community Guide" promotes interventions with demonstrated effectiveness.

Provides access to several thousand different national and international standardized datasets. Data can be displayed in charts, graphs, maps, and tables, as well as exported for further manipulation.

Provides resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications in the United States. The surveillance system also includes county-level estimates of diagnosed diabetes and selected risk factors for all U.S. counties to help target and optimize the resources for diabetes control and prevention.

A-Z topic list of statistics and data available from U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The Atlas assembles statistics on three broad categories of food environment factors: Food Choices, Health and Well-Being, and Community Characteristics. The Atlas currently includes 168 indicators of the food environment. Some data are from the last Census of Population in 2000 while others are as recent as 2009. Some are at the county level while others are at the State or regional level. The most recent county-level data are used whenever possible.

Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.

Spearheaded by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), the Health Community Design Initiative focuses on improved community design as a means of combating asthma, diabetes, and obesity.

Collects data about the use of cancer-related information by the American public. These data provide opportunities to understand and improve health communication.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Contains many links to statistical data that represents benchmarks.

A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Coordinated by the National Center for Health Statistics of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs. Interviewers are from the U.S. Census Bureau. The Early Release (ER) Program of the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) provides analytic reports and preliminary microdata files on an expedited schedule.

Provides public-health information about the scope of diseases and conditions on the health of Americans.

A searchable database of cancer control interventions and program materials and is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to research-tested materials.

Maintained by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. WISQARS provides customized reports of injury-related data.

Provides a single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems produced by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

YRBSS monitors six categories of priority health-risk behaviors among youth and young adults. Includes a national school-based survey conducted by CDC as well as state, territorial, and local school-based surveys conducted by education and health agencies.

"The State Health Assessment is a report on the health of the Commonwealth grounded in data from existing DPH data sets, external data sources such as US Census, CDC, and other state agencies as well as through the Statewide Partnership Advisory group, focus group input, existing DPH advisory group input, key informant interviews, and the general public."

An independent public agency providing a wide range of health services and programs to residents of the City of Boston.

Replaces MassChip. Search for current reports and statistics on various health indicators in the state of Massachussetts. e.g. Search: diabetes statistics

Created by Himmelfarb Library at George Washington University, this guide links to health-related data pertaining to Asia & the South Pacific.

Produced by MEASURE DHS. Nationally representative household surveys with large sample sizes of about 5,000 households in developing countries. Provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition, including family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs (sexually transmitted infections), and reproductive health. Survey information can be searched by country/year, by sub-region, or by content.

World-wide data on disability and rehabilitation compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Links to statistical information on public health, health & safety and health indicators among European Union (EU) nations.

Produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, this site provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.

Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization, and elsewhere.

Produced by the Office of National Statistics - United Kingdom. Site contains data on the following: Health Care System, Health of the Population, Social Care and Specialist Health Services.

Includes a collection of summaries of health-related facts and figures that characterize each country in the Americas; maps and graphs showing the magnitude and distribution patterns of selected health indicators; indicators include selected mortality rates, incidence of diseases under national surveillance, resources and health services coverage.

Compiled by Statistics Canada. A comprehensive topical index to health statistics. Topics include: disability, factors influencing health, health service performance, injuries, mental health, and prevention of disease.

Compilation of information on the AIDS pandemic and on HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries, from studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, and appearing in the press. Summary tables include complete list of references to data sources. Compiled by U.S. AID.

Contains statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. Major types of data available include: Population by age and sex; Vital rates, infant mortality, and life tables. Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of the Census.

Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS) is web-based tool provides nutrition and nutrition-related health and development data in the form of automated country profiles and user-defined downloadable data. Produced by the World Health Organization.

Contains data on health expenditure, health care resources, health care activities, mortality, and risk factors for OECD member nations

Prepared by the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF). Economic and social statistics on the nations of the world, with particular reference to children's well-being. Includes tables for basic indicators, nutrition, health, education, demographic indicators, economic indicators, women, and the rate of progress.

Contains links to UNAIDS' most recent data.

Statistical data compiled by the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups.

WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.

'The World Health Statistics series is WHO’s annual compilation of health statistics for its 194 Member States. World Health Statistics focuses on the proposed health and health-related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and associated targets. It represents an initial effort to bring together available data on SDG health and health-related indicators. In the current absence of official goal-level indicators, summary measures of health such as (healthy) life expectancy are used to provide a general assessment of the situation."