Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Latin American Literature from Nation Building to the 21st century

How to Use This Guide

Welcome to the Tisch Library guide to resources for Latin American Literature from Nation Building to the 21st Century. Use the table of contents to find books, articles, and other resources that will help you with your research. 

The library is currently closed due to COVID-19. However, if you have questions, need assistance with your research, or need to speak with a librarian, please email me or make a video consultation with me. My contact information is on the right-hand side of this page. Also, please feel free to Ask a Librarian.

Getting to Know Your Topic

Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics, and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis, and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.

The Companion to Latin American Studies: This guide gives a brief and accessible overview of the whole of Latin American Studies. Covers colonialism, race in Latin America, gender and sexuality in Latin America, and other topics. 

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature: Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works. Topics and/or authors covered include Miguel Ángel Asturias, José María Arguedas, José Martí, Rubén Darío, indigenism, etc. 

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture: Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. 

Meet Your Librarian

Quetzalli Barrientos's picture
Quetzalli Barrientos