The first step in picking a topic is to brainstorm by asking yourself a few questions. What do you already know about this topic from your course readings? Are there similar ideas you might want to explore? What are the key concepts that you're interested in pursuing?
Once you've spent a bit of time answering these questions, you can take the concepts you've identified and use the keywords and phrases to start searching for information. Keep in mind that you'll need to build a base of knowledge before you can write effectively.
See the Database Search Strategies box on this page for more help with keyword searching!
Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of articles on this topic. The resources on this page include articles from both scholarly and popular sources, so be sure to evaluate your sources to make sure that they are appropriate for your project.
Please note that to access most of the below resources, you will be asked to input your Tufts credentials.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI): Scholarship on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States: citations to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, and other material in more than 500 international social science and humanities journals, published from 1970 to the present.
Anales de la Literatura Hispanoamericana: A journal published annually, that publishes studies specializing in Spanish-American Literature. This journal is divided into several sections, with some focusing on a specific topic and other dealing with miscellaneous works. Every issue contains a section on Modernism known as the Ruben Dario Archive. Books are reviewed at the end of the publication. With the exception of the most recent 6 months, this journal is freely available online with downloadable pdfs of the articles and contributions.
MLA International Bibliography: This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1921. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
Project MUSE: Provides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.