• Costume Industry Coalition
• Revolutionary Costume Pedagogy
• Elizabeth Keckly: “Thirty Years a Slave” to White House Dressmaker
• Theatre and Social and Emotional Justice

• Album of American History. 4 vols.
• American Costume, 1915-1970: a Source Book for the Stage Costumer
• American Decades (1900-2009)
• Common Threads: a Parade of American Clothing
• Dress Codes: Meanings and Messages in American Culture
• Dress in American Culture
• Dressed for the Photographer: Ordinary Americans and Fashion, 1840-1900
• The Good Old Days; a History of American Morals and Manners as Seen Through the Sears, Roebuck Catalogs 1905 to the Present
• Picturing the South: 1860 to the Present: Photographers and Writers
• Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
• The Worldwide History of Dress
• A cultural history of Jewish dress
• The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: From 1066 to the Present
• The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing through World History
• The Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through American history 1900 to the present
• Costume in Detail; Women's Dress, 1730-1930
• A Pictorial History of Costume; a Survey of Costume of all Periods and Peoples from Antiquity to Modern Times including National Costume in Europe and Non-European Countries
• Reference book of women's vintage clothing, 1920-1929

Start Here

The Performing Arts Periodicals Database is a great resource for understanding how a play was received. Try searching:

• "dramatic criticism" for the source type Scholarly Journals
• "theatre reviews" for the source types Magazines, Newspapers, or Trade Journals

Current Reviews: Magazines, Newspapers, and Websites

• Access World News (rich regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage of news)
• Internet Broadway Database
• the Lortel Archive (Off-Broadway)
• Ticketmaster

Past Reviews: Historical Magazines and Newspapers

• African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
• American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
• British Periodicals (1680s - 1930s)
• New York Times Online Archive (1851 - three years before the current date)
• Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
• Times of London (1785 - 1985)

Evaluating Information

Clothing, Fashion and Costume  I

Tisch Library subscriptions

• Women's Wear Daily Archive (1910 to the present)
• Vogue Archive (U.S. edition, 1892 - current)
• ARTstor (2.5+ million images)
  • Fashion and Costume
  • Photography
  • Theatre and Dance
  • More

Clothing, Fashion and Costume II

Museum, special collections, trade and professional web sites that are openly available

• National Museum of American History, Clothing and Accessories (1700s to the present)
• Costume Society of America  
• The Costume Institute at the MET
• Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology
• The New York Public Library's Dress and Fashion: Design and Manufacture Collection
• All Sewn Up: Millinery, Dressmaking, Clothing and Costume
• Texas Fashion Collection
• Apparel Search
• Commercial Pattern Archive 

Culture and Life

Photographs in magazine, museums, libraries and more

• AM Explorer (millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries, including, e.g., Everyday Life and Women in America c1800-1920)
• Time & Life (Getty Images)
• Google LIFE Photo Archive
• Unpublished Black History (from The New York Times’s archives until now)
• Smithsonian Museum
• National Museum of African American History and Culture
• National Museum of the American Indian
• Library of Congress Digital Collections
  • African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition
  • Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs
• New York Public Library Digital Collections
• Digital Public Library of America
• Europeana (digital collections from libraries, archives, and museums across Europe)
• British Museum
• Shorpy Archive
• PICRYL (the largest resource for public domain images, documents, music, and videos)

Miscellaneous Image Collections

• African American Images (Flickr)
• African American History (Pinterest)
• Black History (Pinterest)
• Vintage Black Beauty & History (by Angela Williams on Pinterest)
• Street and Street Fashion (Cambridge and Boston, MA) (by Bimal Nepal on Flickr)

Clothing

• All Fashion Videos on Kanopy
• Designer Marathon Series
• Masters of Fashion: Fashion Designers
• The Year In Fashion Collection

Performance and More

• Black Studies in Video
• BroadwayHD
• Dance in Video
• Digital Theatre (live performance by leading British theatre companies)
• Films from Kanopy
• Filmakers Library Online (Award-winning documentaries)
• Opera in video
• PBS Video Collection

See also Finding Videos.

• Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
• Oxford African American Studies Center
• Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
• CREDO Reference (reference books in all subjects)
• Oxford Reference  (reference books in all subjects)