Skip to main content

Research Guides@Tufts

Hirsh Library has shifted to remote operations and virtual library information services are available during online staffed hours.

Library Resources during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Wash Your Hands!

Keep Clam And Wash Your Hands

Working Remotely

Tufts provides a number of tools that enable the community to continue to be productive while working remotely in the event work or academic functions are disrupted due to prolonged campus or building closures. Additional information and links to resources can be found on this page

Visit the TTS Virtual Lab for software that can be accessed remotely by the Tufts University community.

We have also prepared guides to help you get access to library resources if you are away from campus:

Tufts also provides its students and faculty with licenses to software that may be useful. This includes:

Online Learning Resources

Develop your personal and professional skills with various online learning resources.

About This Guide

In response to the COVID-19 epidemic, many academic publishers have granted free access to their resources. In addition, the Tufts libraries are currently working remotely, which means that there have been some changes to the services we can provide. The purpose of this guide is to organize and provide convenient information to help you find these resources and other Tufts library services during this challenging time.

This main page contains information about how the Hirsh Health Sciences Library is responding to the situation and also links to how to make use of our resources remotely. The Free and Expanded Access page has links to textbooks, ebooks, and journals that have been made temporarily available to access. Reliable resources of health information related to COVID-19 that are freely available are on the Consumer Health Information page. Finally, since this is a stressful time for everyone, the Mental Health and Coping page contains suggestions for relaxing activities and links to live webcams of fuzzy zoo animals.

Hirsh Library Updates

The Library Service Desk is closed. Hirsh Library is offering remote library services during normal business hours. For more information and updates on staffed library hours and remote library services, please check updates on our blog:

Loading ...

Hirsh Library Materials

Checking Out Library Books

We have a new app called MeeScan (available on Google Play or iTunes), which allows you to self-checkout books from the Hirsh Health Sciences Library. When at the Library, download the app from the App Store or Google Play and scan the barcode on your Tufts University ID (starts with 29090) or log in with your Tufts University username and password. After finding a book in our collection, tap the plus sign (+) and scan the Tufts Library book barcode (upper right corner, first page of book, starts with 39090) to checkout the book. MeeScan will use the camera on your phone.

Tufts Medical Center Staff please email us at hhslcirc@tufts.edu to request remote book checkout.

Due to COVID-19, technology (laptops, chargers, dongles) and anatomical models (skulls, teeth, skeletons) are unable to be checked out at this time. 


Contactless Book Pick-up

Hirsh Library has implemented “curbside pickup.”  Students, faculty, and staff are able to request books from any Tufts library to be picked up at Hirsh Library during the MedEd building open hours.  

Search for and request books through JumboSearch and choose a pickup location. When the request is fulfilled, you’ll get an email saying the book is available for pickup. If you choose another library pickup location other than Hirsh Library to pick books up at, that library may have a different procedure, and you will want to contact them. Books requested to pick up at Hirsh Library will be on the Library Service Desk in a bag labeled with your name and checked out to you for contactless pickup. You will have a week to pick up your item. 

You can renew your books twice by logging into your library account or contacting us. If you do not pick up your books within a week, they will get checked back in and returned to the owning library. Please only take books labeled with your own name. Taking other students’ books would be in violation of the Hirsh Health Sciences Honor Code. If you have any questions, need to make alternative arrangements, or no longer need the books you have requested, please contact us


Returning Books to Hirsh Library

If you are near campus, please feel free to return the books to the Hirsh Health Sciences Library book drop near the Library Services Desk, located on the 4th floor of the MedED building. You may also return books to the other Tufts Libraries. The MedED building is currently opened to card swipe, however, things are evolving rapidly, so please see the library's website and blog for updated information.


Returning Books to a Near By Tufts Library

You may also return books to these Tufts Libraries: Ginn Library, Tisch Library, Music, SMFA

Please confirm at the Library’s webpage.
 

Returning Your Books By Mail

If you are away from campus, you may also mail the books back to us at the address below. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us

Shipping Address:
Tufts University
Hirsh Health Sciences Library
MEB 610
37 Tyler Street
Boston, MA 02111


Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

We are doing our best to get you access to what you need. With staff working mostly remotely, requested scans from books and journals within the library may take longer than usual to fill and requests for physical loans is not presently available. You can still request articles and book chapters through ILL and we plan to reinstate borrowing of physical materials through ILL soon as well. Learn more about Interlibrary Loan.
 

Borrowing Books By Mail

You may also choose to have a book from a Tufts library be mailed to you. Find the book you want using Jumbosearch and choose home address instead of a Tufts Library. Mail delivery of Hirsh books is limited to the United States. Each Tufts library has their own mail policies. Please refer to the specific library for instructions.

If you are not in the United States, please email us to discuss your needs. hhslcirc@tufts.edu

Searching for Online Materials

Search Tufts Catalog

Search by title. In the results list, look for 'Online' or 'Electronic Resource' next to the title of the journal.

Internet Archive

Another resource to access materials is the Internet Archive, which is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Remote Assistance

Hirsh Health Sciences Library staff are available to provide you with help and services if you are studying or working from home. We are offering remote library services during online staffed hours. Please feel free to contact us by email, Chat, or set up a virtual appointment to meet.

Building Access

In keeping with the University guidelines, if you plan to visit the Library you must observe rules regarding physical distancing, wearing masks, and completing a screening survey prior to arrival. Currently, only Tufts University IDs are permitted into the building. Once you enter the building, you will need to show the security officer a completed Tufts Symptoms survey on your phone (or printed copy)  The survey can be accessed via https://covidscreening.tufts.edu, the Tufts mobile app, or the Healthy @ Tufts portal. You will not be admitted into the building until you have completed this survey and get the All Clear sign. You need to complete the screening survey any day you come to the School. 

Need Help?

Contact Us

Newspaper Subscriptions

Stay informed with Tufts University's News and Newspapers including