LibGuides: Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases: Home

Access to Federal Resources

Given changes in the presidential administration, some federal resources are currently not accessible. We are working to provide alternative access and resources, as needed, but some links may not be active at this time. Please Ask Us if you would like assistance navigating these resources.

Introduction

This guide is designed to help you locate key resources in geographic medicine and infectious disease that are owned by Tufts University. The databases, e-books, e-journals and point-of-care resources presented in this guide require access to Tufts e-resources.

If you have questions regarding access to these resources, please see our Access & Registration page or contact the library (617-636-6706; hhsl@tufts.edu).

Resources to Get You Started

Red Book: 2021-2024 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases
"The Red Book," is considered the "Bible" of pediatric infectious diseases. In addition to providing an updated and exhaustive summary of the clinical manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnostic tests, treatment, isolation, and control measures for >200 pediatric infectious diseases, this reference discusses a number of related topics, including management. "
CIDRAP - Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy
"CIDRAP works to prevent illness and death from targeted infectious disease threats through research and the translation of scientific information into real-world, practical applications, policies, and solutions."
Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions."

DynaMedex
A reference tool created by physicians for use primarily at the 'point-of-care', DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic-review databases. Its references link to some free articles but otherwise to PubMed records. To access the full text of our licensed articles, open another browser window, login to our customized PubMed, and click on the blue icon for Tufts Electronic Holdings. DynaMed is also available for mobile devices.

Global Health
International database providing comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, human nutrition, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.
Health Map
Delivers real-time intelligence on a broad range of emerging infectious diseases. Through an automated process, updating 24/7/365, the system monitors, organizes, integrates, filters, visualizes and disseminates online information about emerging diseases in nine languages, facilitating early detection of global public health threats.
LitCovid
"LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus."
Models of Infectious Disease Agent Study (MIDAS)
MIDAS is a collaborative network of research scientists who use computational, statistical and mathematical models to understand infectious disease dynamics and thereby assist the nation to prepare for, detect and respond to infectious disease threats.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: MMWR
Produced by the U.S.Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community.
PubMed@Tufts
Provides access to NCBI's databases including MEDLINE with links out to articles licensed by Tufts.