Contact me!
How to Use This Guide
Welcome to the Tisch Library guide to resources for Latin 104: Lucretius. Use the resources in this guide to find definitions, topic overviews, books, articles, and more that will help you with your research.
If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide or any of the resources it contains, don't hesitate to contact Kristina or Ask Us.
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Use these resources to find definitions, synonyms, and more about specific terms and their meaning.
- A Greek-English Lexicon (Liddell and Scott)Liddell & Scott's Greek-English Lexicon is the most comprehensive ancient Greek dictionary in the world. The dictionary covers every surviving ancient Greek author and text, from the Pre-Classical Greek of Homer and Hesiod to Classical Greek to the Hellenistic Period, including the Greek Old and New Testaments.
- Oxford Latin DictionaryThe online version of the Oxford Latin Dictionary is part of Oxford Poetry Online. To access the Oxford Latin Dictionary, double-click a word within any Latin poetry text.
- Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeThe Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a research program at the University of California, Irvine. The TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
- Thesaurus Linguae LatinaeThe Thesaurus linguae Latinae is the largest Latin dictionary in the world and covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D.
Background & Context
Use these resources to find find background information on your topic. Sources like these provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas.
- New Pauly OnlineA comprehensive encyclopedia of antiquity, with solid coverage of topics famous and obscure. Need a biography of Pseudo-Skimnos? This is your place.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (4th edition)Great starting point for research in ancient Greek and Roman cultures. Contains solid definitions and biographies of people, places, things, and cultural ideas from Greece and Rome. Also good for mythological genealogy. With references to primary and secondary sources.
- Oxford Companion to Classical LiteratureGood coverage of authors, works, and plot summaries. Can't keep the Oedipus cycle straight? This is your source.
- Cambridge Ancient History (print)A collection of modern scholarly essays on topics and time periods in antiquity. Includes very comprehensive bibliographies. Locate it in the Book Stacks, Call # D57 .C252