- Government Sources
- U.S. Census Sector Data
The "Data by Sector" menu provides access to official government data from the U.S. Census on topics related to broad industry sectors. Many other sources, such as those listed below, rely on this data. Includes a section on e-commerce
- U.S. Census Industry Snapshots
Government data organized by NAICS sector and industry codes. Icons indicate from which Census the data comes.
- BOL Industries at a Glance
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor (BOL), reports on over 100 industries, organized by NAICS code or industry name, focusing on employment, labor, and trends.
Patents can be searched on by major classifications of inventions, which sometimes serve as proxies for industries, and by assignees, which often are companies in particular sectors.
- Small Business Association (SBA) Industry Guides
- ABI Inform
Includes the full text of articles in over 500 business and management journals, both trade and scholarly. The Browse Tab provides links to industry reports and trade publications.
- Academic OneFile
The Advanced Search option enables searching on specific document types such as Industry Overview and Industry Ranking as well as Company and Brand names.
- MarketLine Advantage
Extensive industry profiles, filterable by geographic region, as well as detailed company reports. Also includes news, downloadable statistics, country reports, and financial deals. Formerly Datamonitor 360.
- Euromonitor Passport GMID
Global market information on countries, consumers, and companies through in-depth reports and relevant statistical data. Includes consumer demographics and market trends.
In the Search tab, the Industry Facet search option screens for sources for specific industries. In the Companies/Markets tab, the Industries module provides reports and news on industries organized according to the Dow Jones Industries system.
- Gartner Research
Detailed reports on technology-intensive industries from a leading IT research company. Available through Ginn Library; Tufts has a limited subscription.
- General Business File ASAP
Searching on SIC codes in the Advanced Search screen retrieves citations for industry reports in major business journals. Searching on company ticker symbols retrieves investment reports on major industries.
- Global Insight
Industry news is available by choosing among Categories in the Advanced Search page.
Periodicals and databases focusing on defense, security, weapons, terrorism, intelligence, and public safety.
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
Detailed profiles, statistics, market reports, and news on sectors and industries in emerging markets. Reports are in multiple languages.
- LexisNexis Academic
Use the Sources tab to screen for sources by industry or by type of report, such as market research reports or trade publications. Sources include Hoover's. The Company Dossier feature enables screening for industry ratios and major players.
- OneSource Global Express
Detailed global coverage of industries and companies, both public and private. Includes RMA Industry Norms (statistical summaries of key financial and operating ratios for an industry).
Only U.S. companies; public & private; includes detailed information on smaller firms. Industry insights can be obtained by searching for companies using NAICS and SIC codes.
- Roubini Global Economics (RGE Monitor)
Reports, news, blogs, and other entries on business and economic issues. Industry-specific entries can be accessed by typing keywords into the RGE Search box.
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers / ThomasNet
Directory of North American suppliers for manufactured products. Sources can be screened by product categories as well as by location, certifications, and other criteria.
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Print: Tisch Reference HF5681.R25 A45
Includes CD-ROM, available at Tisch Circulation Desk.
Comparative ratios for over 50 factors in major industries, organized by the NAICS classification system.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
Print: Tisch Reference HF5351 .E52
Resources can be screened by SIC industrial classification code.
- Valuation Resources Industry Information Sources
Alongside listings of fee-only market research, includes leads on industry associations and valuation studies.
- Business Week Sector Overviews
Joint project of the German National Library of Economics and the University and City Library of Cologne, gateway to materials in multiple languages from global sources, including many freely available sources. Coverage includes sources on companies and industries.
- Ernst & Young Industry Reports
Reports on specific industries by a global leader in tax advisory and management services.
- Harvard Business School Industry Guides
From the HBS' Baker Library, comprehensive guides to selected industries. Note: some sources are only available to the HBS community.
- Manufacturing and Services (MAS) Industry Reports
From the U.S. International Trade Administration (ITA), a gateway to statistics, reports, and links to associations and other sources.
- QFinance Sector Reports
Statistics and forecasts for over 20 basic sectors.
- OECD iLibrary
Statistics and Reports on general sectors.