Library Contact
Journal Indexes
- MathSciNetOnline version of Mathematical Reviews (MR), which includes content dating back to the 1880s and the ability to search using the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) system. An alternative platform, EBSCO, enables searching on MathSciNet alongside other EBSCO databases.
- Zentralblatt MATH (ZMATH)Features a link to the Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics, covering the literature from 1868 to 1930.
- SCOPUSScopus is a large abstract and citation database that includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- InspecFocuses on applied mathematics.
Full-Text Journal Collections & Repositories
- JSTORIncludes publications of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) and back files of the American Journal of Mathematics. Material published in recent years typically is not available through JSTOR. Follow links provided in JSTOR or check the Tufts Catalog for access to more recent journal volumes.
- Oxford JournalsIncludes publications from major mathematics societies, including the Institute of Mathematics and the London Mathematical Society
- Electronic Library of Mathematics: Mathematical JournalsGateway to websites of mathematical journals from publishers and mathematics associations worldwide. Also tracks discontinued titles or titles which have been absorbed by other publications.
- arXiv.orgOpen access e-prints in mathematics, statistics, and related disciplines.
- DML: Digital Mathematics LibraryDirectory of digitized mathematics journals and monographs. Includes links to mathematics repositories worldwide and to publications from smaller mathematics societies.
Journals from Professional Societies
- American Mathematical Society (AMS) JournalsOlder issues of most titles are available through JSTOR
- American Statistical Association (ASA) JournalsTufts subscribes to most but not all of these journals. Other ASA publications are available through the Tufts Catalog.
- Math DL: the MAA Mathematical Sciences Digital Libraryaccess to the web journal Loci, which combines the The Journal of Online Mathematics and its Applications (JOMA), Digital Classroom Resources (DCR), and Convergence: Journal of Online Mathematics and Its Applications, as well as classroom resources and book reviews.
- SIAM Journals OnlineFrom the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Sample Journals
Conference Proceedings
- Conference Proceedings Citation IndexPart of the ISI Web of Science collection.
- ACM Digital LibraryFrom the Association for Computing Machinery.
- AIPFrom the American Institute of Physics.
- Engineering VillageIncludes Compendex and Inspec.
- IEEE XploreFrom IEEE.
- MathSciNetFrom the American Mathematical Society.
- Science Conference Proceedings PortalFrom DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
Repositories and other Collections
Many mathematics-focused articles, papers, and other materials, some of which constitutes the "grey literature," are stored in repositories, open-access archives, and government websites. While often cryptically cited and difficult to locate, these materials are important for understanding the develop of mathematical thinking and often contain unique content.
- Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print ServersLinks to mathematics preprint and e-print servers worldwide, organized by Umbrella, Special Subject, Institute and Department, and Retired Preprint Servers.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): MathematicsSource of open access journals from small publishers and professional societies and non-U.S. sources. Mathematics-focused sources are located under both Science and Technology subject groupings.
- Registry of Open-Access Repositories (ROAR)Screens OA repositories by country, repository server software, and document type.
- Patent DatabasesPatents describe inventions which apply mathematical ideas and algorithms. Note: the patentability of Mathematical algorithms themselves is discussed in the U.S. PTO's Manual of Patent Examining Procedures.
Theses & Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses @ Tufts UniversityContains a subset of theses published by Tufts students. Also search the Tufts Catalog using the Theses & Dissertations option in the Advanced Search mode. Undergraduate theses are listed at the Tufts Digital Library.
- Engineering VillageThe premier index for the engineering literature, EV provides citations for articles, conference proceedings, selected patents, and other materials dating back to the 1880s. Comprises Compendex and Inspec and includes Knovel-driven Equations and links to related Scopus records.
- Tufts Dissertations and Theses GuideProvides links to many sources for dissertations worldwide as well information on resources at Tufts.