This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Japanese American Internment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Tisch Library Ginn Library Hirsch Health Sciences Library Webster Veterinary Library Digital Collections and Archives

Japanese American Internment   Tags: history  

A selection of resources on Japanese American internment during World War II.
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/japaneseinternment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Keywords

Use the following keywords related to Japanese American Internment to help you search for books, articles and other sources.

 

  • internment
  • relocation
  • incarceration
  • assembly center(s)
  • War Relocation Authority
  • relocation center(s)
  • Manzanar, Topaz, Poston, etc. (names of camps)
  • internment camp
  • citizen isolation camps
  • concentration camp(s)
  • camp residents
  • detainees
  • internees
 

Background Sources on Japanese American Internment

These books are available in print.  See below for location and a brief description.

Cover Art
Japanese American internment during World War II : a history and reference guide
Call Number: Tisch Book Stacks: D769.8.A6 N4 2002
Provides a chronology of events in Japanese American History (focusing on internment), historical essays, and a collection of photographs related to the internenment camp experience, brief biographies of persons linked to the internment, primary documents and excerpts, and a bibliography.

Cover Art
Japanese American history : an A-to-Z reference from 1868 to the present
Call Number: Tisch Reference: E184.J3 J3355 1993
Divided into three sections: a narrative historical overview, a chronology of Japanese American history, and a dictionary of entries related to Japanese American history.

Reference Library of Asian America
Call Number: Tisch Reference: E184.O6 R45 1995
Volume 1, Chapter 8 of this collection discusses the history of Japanese Americans in the United States.

 

Keyword Searching

Keyword Search Rules for the Library Catalog and Databases


Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)
AND

Use AND to focus search and combine different aspects of your topic.

Example: Japanese Americans and internment camps

 

OR
 

Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.

Example: internment or relocation or evacuation

NOT

Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search

 

 


Additional Search Tips

"Phrase search"  - Use quotation marks" " to search for a particular phrase.

Example: "War Relocation Authority"

Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.

Example:  famil* (searches family, families, etc.)

(Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.

Example: Japanese Americans and (reparations or redress)

See the Basic Search Tips guides for more information, including examples. 

Help with Research

Profile Image
Connie Reik
Contact Info
Research & Instruction Librarian for the Social Sciences and Government Publications/Information
Tisch Library
617-627-2073
Work Hours w/appt
M, T, Th, F 9ish-5pm; Wed 2pm-9pm
Desk Hours: M 1-3pm, W 5-9p
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip