Images from JARDA
How to Use This Guide
Welcome to the Tisch Library guide for the history of the Japanese-American Internment. Use the table of contents to find definitions, topic overviews, books, articles, and more that will help you with your research.
Getting to Know Your Topic: Background & Context
Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics, and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis, and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.
- Credo ReferenceOnline reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form. Examples of titles are: Bloomsbury Guide to Art, Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Columbia Encyclopedia, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. The complete list of titles is available on the CREDO Reference site.
- Oxford ReferenceProvides web access to more than 100 major Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works in the humanities, social sciences, foreign languages, science, technology and medicine, the performing arts, and religion. Works can be searched separately or across the entire databases. Includes over 1.5 million entries.
- Gale eBooksGale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Specialized Sources on Japanese-American Internment
Below are specialized background sources, both in print and online, that focus on Japanese-American internment during World War II.
Japanese American Incarceration During World War IICall Number: EBook ChapterFollowing decades of racial prejudice, 120,000 Japanese Americans during World War II were indiscriminately subjected to eviction from their homes, expulsion from the West Coast, detention in 16 makeshift compounds, and then concentration into 10 longer-term camps.
Internment Camps, Japanese American from Asian American Society: An EncyclopediaThe Japanese American internment consisted of the relocation and incarceration of more than 110,000 persons during World War II, which has been the defining experience of Japanese Americans
Japanese American internment during World War II : a history and reference guideCall Number: Tisch Book Stacks: D769.8.A6 N4 2002Provides a chronology of events in Japanese American History, historical essays, and a collection of photographs related to the internment camp experience, brief biographies of persons linked to the internment, primary documents and excerpts, and a bibliography.
Japanese American history : an A-to-Z reference from 1868 to the presentCall Number: Tisch Reference: E184.J3 J3355 1993Divided into three sections: a narrative historical overview, a chronology of Japanese American history, and a dictionary of entries related to Japanese American history.
