Related guides
This guide provides suggestions for doing research on topics related to women, gender, and sexuality. Browse the pages of this guide for resources to find articles, books, primary sources, and more. Get in touch with Andrea with any questions about this guide, your research, or finding sources in WGSS.
Databases to start with
- Women's Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- Gender WatchThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
- LGBTQ+ SourceContains scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, books, magazines, and newspapers in full text and a specialized 10,000-term LGBTQ+ thesaurus.
WGSS is an interdisciplinary field, and so material relevant to your research might be found in databases for many disciplines. You may want to visit some of the Related Guides for additional database resources, or see the Database Finder for a full list of databases.
Choosing terms
These resources provide lists of terms related to gender & sexuality. These may be useful for considering topics to research or in searching for resources in databases and Jumbosearch.
- Homosaurus VocabularyA vocabulary of LGBTQ terms.
- The Trans Language PrimerA guide to the language of gender, attraction, and acceptance. Terms include part(s) of speech, definition(s), and example sentences. Many contain links to further reading for more context.
- Library of Congress Subject Headings for LGBT StudiesList compiled by Emory University of Library of Congress subject terms for LGBT studies. Choose a category from the menu to get started.
Resources for finding & using diverse sources
These links provide general resources for identifying sources and authors from underrepresented identities. See the Periodicals & primary sources tab of this guide for links to specific databases & collections of resources that may also provide diverse sources.
- Library Resources for Transgender TopicsA guide from the University of Minnesota compiles that resources to help researchers from all disciplines and affiliations locate and identify information on people who identify as transgender. The guide links to resources at U of M, but you can search most in Jumbosearch and access them through Tufts.
- Resources for identifying women & POC scholarsA list of sites where you can search for scholars in a particular discipline or across disciplines who identify as women, POC, or other underrepresented identities
- Gender Balance Assessment ToolWomen are cited less often than men, and are also underrepresented in syllabi. Scholars may find that they have difficulty assessing how gender-balanced their bibliographies and syllabi really are. Use this tool to automatically evaluate the (probabilistic) gender of each name and then providing an estimate of what percentage of the authors on a syllabus are women.
