Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (General)

Select "Gender and Sexuality" in the "Themes" menu to access several digital collections of primary sources related to women's study & history

Art of the March is an online archive and interactive presentation of protest signs and posters collected in the aftermath of the historic Boston Women’s March on January 21, 2017.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Begun in the late nineteenth century, the Gerritsen Collection represents books and periodicals tracing the development of feminist consciousness through four centuries and fifteen languages. The Collection is one of the most important single sources in the study of women's history.

Manuscripts, ephemera, images, maps, and more. Includes several sets of materials related to the suffrage movement.

Primary sources in the study of women's social movements from colonial times to the present. This database contains books, pamphlets and proceedings from national conventions on women's rights, abolition, and the Women's Christian Temperance Union.

Data on women elected officials from the congressional, statewide elected executive, and state legislative levels. Each level goes back to the very first woman to hold office in that level. From the Center for American Women and Politics

Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections. This collection explores women's roles in the U.S. economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

reprints on a quarterly basis the tables of contents pages of over 150 magazines and journals, from academic journals to special interest periodicals on women of color, art, law, health care, lesbian issues, and women around the world. Covers many international and grassroots titles are not indexed in standard sources.

Fulltext available for years 1854-1882.
Major historical women's magazine, covering fashion descriptions and plates, biographical sketches, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health and hygiene, recipes and remedies, and more.

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

The Women's Wear Daily Archive is a searchable and browsable archive of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution, full color images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.

Full-text searching of records from the ACLU from before its founding in 1920 through the 20th century. Covers topics such as race, identity, gender rights, worker’s rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more.

Select "Gender and Sexuality" in the "Themes" menu to access several digital collections of primary sources

Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, along with extensive material related to feminism, women's rights, and women's concerns. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.

An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Search across multiple archival collections, digital materials, and independent projects with a single search engine

The History Project is a nonprofit, volunteer-driven organization that was founded in 1980 in order to document and preserve the history of Boston's LGBTQ communities, and to share that information with the world.

A stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models.

"This collection documents the activist and professional activities of Donald S. Lucas. The vast majority of the collection dates from 1953 to 1969. The Lucas collection contains an abundance of material relating to the early homosexual civil rights movement (the homophile movement) and the San Francisco manifestation of President Lyndon Johnson's War on Poverty. ..."

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities.

Digitized documents on the founding and growth of the homophile movement, especially the Daughters of Bilitis, the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, founded by Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin. The collection also includes copies of The Ladder, the monthly magazine for the Daughters of Bilitis, as well as early meeting minutes, correspondence, chapter records, membership data, and manuscripts.

Digitized documents from the papers of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders of the first lesbian rights organization in the United States, the Daughters of Bilitis. This collection focuses on Lyon and Martins work with other organizations such as ACLE, the Kinsey Institute for Sex Research, the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, and the National Organization for Women, as well as covering the research and reception of Martins book Battered Wives.

This collection of periodicals focuses on newsletters issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organizations throughout the country and on periodicals devoted to gay and lesbian political and social activist agendas.

A free, searchable database of past and present queer zines. Zines can be viewed online or downloaded.

Digitized t-shirt collections of numerous lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender archives across the United States

Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.

The Bay Area Reporter is the oldest continuously published lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender weekly newspaper in the United States. The archive includes 1971-2005.

1969 to the present. Covers dozens of immigrant and minority community newspapers from across the country.

Includes complete runs of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the US (primarily 1960s-1980s), with a particular focus on feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.