Having trouble accessing a resource?
Some databases only provide citation information to an article or resource rather than the full text. Tisch's book and eBook collections are extensive, but do not have every single book on a given topic. Other times, you may find something on Google Scholar to which Tufts does not have instant access. Interlibrary loan can help provide you with access to the resources that you need with help from other libraries and universities.
-
Interlibrary LoanInformation on the process and policies for borrowing books and other sources from other libraries.
-
BLC (Boston Library Consortium) Worldcat(millions of books in this area and worldwide)
Select Resources For Researching Middle and High School Education
-
Education CollectionThe Education Collection provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, in combination with the full-text Education Database. Together they provide abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
-
ERICThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and more.
-
PsycINFOPsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO also has an "Age Group" filter that can be really helpful when looking for information about middle and high school students.
-
Web of ScienceSearch across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.
Tips For Finding Resources About Middle and High School Students
- Add your desired age group to your search terms.
- Example: "academic stress AND middle school" will ask for the results that contain both academic success and middle school
- Once you are viewing your results, you can use the Subject filter to further refine your results by selecting filters that pertain to your population. You can also exclude age groups that are not relevant (college students are a popular population group for instance).
- Example: "high school," "high school students," "secondary school"
