Latin American Civilization: Home

Books    

• JumboSearch
• Libraries Worldwide 

Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)

1. Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
2. Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
3. Use that language in further searches

e.g., Click on Subject Headings in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:

Title::	Pirate novels: fictions of nation building in Spanish America
Author	Gerassi-Navarro, Nina.
Subjects:	Historical fiction, Spanish American -- History and criticism
	Nationalism and literature -- Latin America
	Pirates in literature
	Spanish American fiction -- 19th century -- History and criticism

 

Browse the following titles and use the above method to find more books on topics of your interests:

• Dancing with dynamite: social movements and states in Latin America
• Domestic labor in twenty-first century Latin American cinema
• Latin American history goes to the movies: understanding Latin America's past through film.
• Latin American independence: an anthology of sources
• The Latin American (Counter-) Road Movie and Ambivalent Modernity
• Latin American social movements in the twenty-first century: resistance, power, and democracy
• Music in the Hispanic Caribbean: experiencing music, expressing culture
• Peoples of the earth: ethnonationalism, democracy, and the indigenous challenge in "Latin" America

Some Reference Titles for Overviews:

• The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture.
• Culture and customs of Latin America and the Caribbean. (of 20 countries.)
• The Companion to Latin American Studies.
• Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature:
• Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture

Journal Articles 

1. All Subjects

• JStor
• Project Muse

2. Latin American Studies

• Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

3. Subject Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Art & Architecture Source
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• MLA International Bibliography (literary Studies)
• Music Index Online
• Women's Studies International

Tip: Crash a Research Party

Subject-specific databases are where scholars in a given research area gather to sharing with each other their scholarship. For example, the subject database Film and Television Literature Index. is where film historians and scholars are having their research party. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?

 

• Latin American Ephemera Collections at Princeton
• Latin American Pamphlets (19th to the early 20th centuries)

Newspapers and Magazines

Current:

• Access World News (more regional coverage of news)
• Factiva (more international coverage of news)

Historical:

• Latin American Newspapers Series 1, 1805-1922 (45 titles)
• Latin American Newspapers Series 2, 1822-1922 (250 more titles)

More newspapers

---

 Digital Image and Streaming Films

• ARTStor
• Kanopy streaming films