How to Use This Guide
Welcome to the Tisch Library guide to resources for the study of Time and Temporalities in Medieval and Early Modern Europe. Use the table of contents to find definitions, topic overviews, books, articles, and more that will help you with your research.
Getting to Know Your Topic
Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics, and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis, and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.
- Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesA collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
- The Oxford Handbook of Medieval ChristianityThe Oxford Handbook of Medieval Christianity is about the beliefs, practices, and institutions of the Roman Church between 400 and 1500AD, and brings together in one volume a host of cutting-edge analysis.
- The Oxford Handbook of Early Modern European History, 1350-1750: Volume I: Peoples and PlaceThis Handbook provides a comprehensive introduction to early modern Europe in a global context. It presents some account of the development of the subject during the past half-century, but primarily offers an integrated survey of present knowledge, together with some suggestions as to how the field is developing.
- The Oxford handbook of early modern European history, 1350-1750. Volume 2, Cultures and powerThis handbook re-examines the concept of early modern history in a European and global context. Volume II engages with philosophy, science, art and architecture, music, and the Enlightenment, and examines the military and political developments within and beyond the boundaries of Europe.
- Oxford Handbook of the Protestant Reformations"The Oxford Handbook of the Protestant Reformations covers the "long Reformation" period from ca.1400 to 1750 in its European and global dimensions. Thirty-eight contributors offer cutting-edge research. This is the most comprehensive handbook of Protestant Reformations ever published to investigate the beliefs, practices, and institutions which followed medieval reform movements and Martin Luther's Reformation in Germany.
- The Oxford handbook of women and gender in medieval Europe"The Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe provides a comprehensive overview of the gender rules encountered in Europe in the period between approximately 500 and 1500 C.E.
