Japanese Literary and Cultural Studies: Home

1. Faculty Publications:

     by Prof. Charles Inouye

• • The End of the World, Plan B: a Guide for the Future
  • Evanescence and form: an introduction to Japanese culture
  • "Unburying Figurality: Japan's Contribution to the Globalgothic," in Glennis Byron, ed., Globalgothic.v
  • "Japanese Gothic," in David Punter, ed., New Companion to the Gothic
  • In light of shadows: more gothic tales by Izumi Kyōka; translated and with essays by Charles Shirō Inouye

     by Prof. Hosea Hirata

• • Discourses of Seduction: History, Evil, Desire, and Modern Japanese Literature.
  • The poetry and poetics of Nishiwaki Junzaburō: modernism in translation .

     by Prof. Jennifer Cullen

• • A Comparative Study of Tenko: Sata Ineko and Miyamoto Yuriko
  • A Blank Page: The Canonization of Higuchi Ichiyo
  • "Writing Purity: The Rise of Virginity as a Literary Concern in Modern Japan
  •  

     by Prof. Susan Napier

• • Anime from Akira to Princess Mononoke: experiencing contemporary Japanese animation.
  • From Impressionism to anime: Japan as fantasy and fan cult in the mind of the West.
  • Hybrid identities: Ôe, Japan, and the West
  • Miyazakiworld: a life in art

2. JumboSearch for Books

Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic..)

Some Titles on Various Topics at Tisch Library:

• The Virtual Museum of Japanese Arts
• The National Archives of Japan
• New York Public Library Picture Collection
• New York Public Library Web Gallery of Images

• ARTstor (over a million high quality images)
• Japan Search (links digital archives in the publications, cultural properties, and media arts fields of varying of contents preserved by Japanese institutions and organizations into a searchable “national, integrated and cross-sectoral portal website.)

1. Search the Databases for Journal Articles 

;

A. All-Subject Databases

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Related Subjects Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Art & Architecture Source
• ATLA Religion
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Communication & Mass Media
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (Cultural history of the world)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• MLA International Bibliography (Literature, folklore and related studies.)
• Women's Studies International

**Search by the title of the article in JumboSearch when the full text is not readily available in the two Art History databases.

 

A Few Notable Journals

• Artibus Asiae
• Ars Orientalis
• Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies
• Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
• Japan Review
• Japanese journal of religious studies
• The Journal of Japanese Studies
• Journal of Popular Culture
• Mechademia
• Monumenta Nipponica
• Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique

 

• Camera Obscura
• Cinema Journal
• Discourse
• Film & History
• Film History
• Film Quarterly
• Framework
• Historical Journal of Film, Radio & Television
• Journal of Film and Video
• Journal of Popular Film & Television
• The Movie Image
• PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
• Projections
• Quarterly Review of Film and Video
• Screen
• The Velvet Light Trap
• Wide Angle

2. Search Databases for Newspaper Articles 

• Access World News (rich regional news)
• Factiva (more international news)
• More