African-American Visual Culture: Home

Prof. Kelli Morgan's Talks:

• A Seat at the Table of Systemic Racism in Art Museums (video)
• African-American Art - A Brief Historiography (video)
• Navigating Change in Museums (Video)

Black Studies

• African American Studies Center, AASC
• Black Perspectives
• Black Studies Center
• Black Studies in Video

Overviews

• Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present: from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century
• The Harlem Renaissance, 1920-1940
• The Black Chicago Renaissance

Bibliographies

• Art History
• Oxford Art Online

Images and Web Sites

• ARTStor (more than 2 million high-quality images)
• Archives of American Art
• Library of Congress Digital Collections
  • African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition
  • Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs
• National museum of African American history and culture
• New York Public Library  Gallery of Images
  • Africana & Black History
• Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
• Smithsonian Collection Search Center

 

II. JumboSearch for Books 

Browse for Tisch library books on:

• African American art
• African American artists
• African American women artists
• Black Arts movement
• Harlem Renaissance

Some sample titles at Tisch Library:

• African American Civil Rights: Early Activism and the Niagara Movement
• Locke, Alain African American Contributions to the Americas' Cultures: A Critical Edition of Lectures
• Harris, Michael. Colored pictures: race and visual representation
• Farrington, Lisa. Creating Their Own Image: the History of African-American Women Artists
• The Critical Temper of Alain Locke: a Selection of His Essays on Art and Culture
• The Harlem Renaissance: an Anthology
•  The Image of the Black in Western Art
• Porter, James A. Modern Negro Art.

Note: Libraries Worldwide (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

---

III. Scholarly Journal, Historical Magazine and Newspaper Articles: 

A. All subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B. Art History, American History and Related Subjects:

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier
• America: History & Life
• Art & Architecture Source
• Art Index retrospective (1929-1984)
• Communication & Mass Media
• Film & Television Literature Index
• LGBTQ+ Source
• MLA International Bibliography (Literary studies.)
• Race Relations Abstracts
• Women's Studies International

Music sources in the Lilly Music Library

 

C. Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Current:

• Access World News (more regional coverage of news)
• Factiva (more international coverage of news)

Historical:

• Accessible Archives (major 19th century African American newspapers)
• African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
• American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
• Index to nineteenth century American art periodicals
• Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
• More