LibGuides: HIST 191: Environment, Health, and Justice: Primary Sources

Newspapers and Other Documentation

Newspapers, agency reports, legislation, and government documents are excellent primary sources for historical research. The databases below each contain a wide range of these primary sources.

African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Part of the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 allows you to search almost 300 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
allAfrica.com
Access to articles published on allAfrica.com from 1996 to the present.
Alt-PressWatch
Contains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.
Factiva
Factiva from Dow Jones has over 14,000 news and business sources from around the world, including newspapers, magazines, wire services, media transcripts, company and industry reports, historical market data, and advanced charting tools.
Law Journal Library
This HeinOnline collection consists of full-text access to over 2,300 law journals, usually starting with the first volume and available through the most current content.
Middle East & North Africa Global Perspectives
Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

Statistics and Data Sets

Curated data sets and statistics are also useful primary sources for historical research. The databases below contain datasets and statistics related to the environment and health.

CDC: Data and Statistics
The Center for Disease Control and Prevention provides data and statistics browsable by topic.
Climate Change Knowledge Portal
World Bank. Search by country to find historical rainfall and temperature data and projections for the future. Comparison charts, risk and adaptation profiles, mapping and download options are included.
DataRefuge
Data Refuge is a public project headed by the Penn Program in Environmental Humanities and the Penn Libraries committed to identifying, assessing, prioritizing, securing, and distributing reliable copies of federal climate and environmental data.
National Centers for Environmental Information
Provides access to one of the most significant archives on earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Environmental Data Portal
A gateway to reusable climate maps and datasets that document various climate conditions.

Policy Map
An easy-to-use web-based Geographic Information System (GIS), use Policy Map to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

World Health Organization
The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being as mandated by Member States.