Arts of Africa: Home

By Prof. P. Probst

• From Iconoclasm to Heritage
• What is African Art? A Short History (forthcoming)
• Iconoclash in the Age of Heritage (guest editor). African Arts
• Osogbo and the Art of Heritage. Monuments, Deities, and Money
• Hybrid Heritage (guest editor together with Ferdinand De Jong). African Arts
• Visual Publics (guest editor). Critical Interventions
• Between Resistance and Expansion: Explorations of Local Vitality in Africa (co-edited with Gerd Spittler).
• Kalumbas Fest. Lokalität, Geschichte und Rituelle Praxis in Malawi.
• African Modernities (co-edited with J.G. Deutsch and H. Schmitt).

• The Art Bulletin.
• Art History
• Art Journal

• African Arts
• Critical Interventions
• Nka: Journal of Contemporary African Art

Visual Sources 

Digital Images

• Aluka World Heritage Sites - Africa (visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites)
• ARTStor( (more than 2 million high-quality images)
• The Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives at the National Museum of African Art
• New York Public Library Picture Collection   |  Digital Collections
• Ross Archive of African Images 1590 - 1920 (Yale Univ.)

Films

• Fold crumple crush: the art of El Anatsui 
• Through African Eyes, BBC 1995
• In and out of Africa

• Writing for museums

I. Bibliographies

Websites recommended by Professor Peter Probst:

• Art of Africa (Khan Academy)
• Current events and developments in contemporary art
• Literature on modern and contemporary African art
• Monographs on African Artists (an annotated Bibliography)
• Ross Archive of Traditional African Art, Images & Publications  (Yale Univ.)

Annotated Bibliographies by Oxford University Press:

• African Studies
• Art History

More Sources

• • Dissertations and Theses (Check out the bibliographies of recent dissertations on a topic.)
  • Dissertation Reviews (yet to be published, which "offer a glimpse of each discipline's immediate present")
   
  • CAA Reviews (College Art Association)
  • H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences (1994 - )
  • New York Review of Books  (1963 - )

 

II. (JumboSearch for) Books 

Browsing and Search patterns for your reference:

• Art --Africa
• Art Ethiopian
• Art -- Ghana
• Masks -- Africa
• Masks -- African
• Sculpture -- Africa
• Art, African -- Catalogs
• Art, African -- Exhibitions

 

Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat) is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

III. Journal Articles (subject databases)

A. All Subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

B.  Art History and Related Subjects Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Academic Search Premier
• Africa-Wide Information
• America: History & Life
• Anthropology
• Art & Architecture Source
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• LGBTQ+ Source
• Race Relations Abstracts
• Women's Studies International

ARTbibliographies Modern (not in the EBSCO group)

 

IV. Newspaper Articles

• Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)
• New York Times Online Archive (1851 - three years before the current date)M
• More