This guide is intended to provide some general information about anti-oppression, diversity, and inclusion as well as information and resources for the social justice issues key to the Simmons University community.
For those working around a leader, such as a manager, direct report or peer, the single most important trait generating a sense of inclusiveness is a leader’s visible awareness of bias. But to fully capitalize on their cognizance of bias, leaders also must express both humility and empathy.
Online reference resources from numerous publishers. This reference resource can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its research mapper to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in (a) visual form. Examples of titles are: Bloomsbury Guide to Art, Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Columbia Encyclopedia, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and the Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. The complete list of titles is available on the CREDO Reference site.
Literature reviews, synthesizing large amounts of research literature and identifying the principal contributions. Sections in Anthropology, Sociology, Law & Social Science, Organizational Psychology & Organizational Behavior, and more.
Get writing help from the StAAR Center's Online Learning Platform! For help with your Literature Review, enroll in this Canvas course, click on "Writing" and then on "Literature Review" under Writing Projects and Genres.
Working with two anonymous members of congress, this site is making Congressional Research Service reports publicly available. CRS Reports are non-classified, topical research overviews produced for members of congress.
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to help visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. The site currently includes data from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey to 2008, original Census tract-level estimates for 2006 and 2007, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000, and 2002 Carbon Emissions Data from the Vulcan Project.
Demographic profiles of U.S. legislative districts, including past voting patterns, and profiles of elected officials. Note: The National Journal version is conveniently integrated with other National Journal publications. Use the ProQuest version for state by state comprehensive listings 2012-current. And see the Tisch print holdings for coverage back to 1998.