Finding books, handbooks, textbooks, etc.
- JumboSearchThe library catalog includes all print and electronic books available from the library, as well as articles and databases.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of technical e-books with interactive charts, tables, graphs, and equations. Some relevant "Concepts" that can be used to filter results include "offshore wind farm," "wind energy," and "wind data."
- ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new windowCollection of engineering handbooks. Coverage includes biomedical engineering, digital signal processing, electric power engineering, electrical engineering, environmental engineering, mechanical engineering, mobile communications, structural engineering, telecommunications, and vibration.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of online engineering books.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the library doesn't have a book or article you need, you can request it using interlibrary loan, and the library can usually get a copy for you from another library.
Some specific books and handbooks for finding topic overviews and background information
Offshore Wind Farms by
Offshore Wind Farms: Technologies, Design and Operation provides the latest information on offshore wind energy, one of Europe's most promising and quickly maturing industries, and a potentially huge untapped renewable energy source which could contribute significantly towards EU 20-20-20 renewable energy generation targets. It has been estimated that by 2030 Europe could have 150GW of offshore wind energy capacity, meeting 14% of our power demand. Offshore Wind Farms: Technologies, Design and Operation provides a comprehensive overview of the emerging technologies, design, and operation of offshore wind farms. Part One introduces offshore wind energy as well as offshore wind turbine siting with expert analysis of economics, wind resources, and remote sensing technologies. The second section provides an overview of offshore wind turbine materials and design, while part three outlines the integration of wind farms into power grids with insights to cabling and energy storage. The final section of the book details the installation and operation of offshore wind farms with chapters on condition monitoring and health and safety, amongst others. Provides an in-depth, multi-contributor, comprehensive overview of offshore technologies, including design, monitoring, and operation Edited by respected and leading experts in the field, with experience in both academia and industry Covers a highly relevant and important topic given the great potential of offshore wind power in contributing significantly to EU 20-20-20 renewable energy targets
ISBN: 9780081007808Publication Date: 2016-03-03
Wind Energy Engineering, Second Edition by
A fully up-to-date, comprehensive wind energy engineering resource This thoroughly updated reference offers complete details on effectively harnessing wind energy as a viable and economical power source. Globally recognized wind expertPramod Jain clearly explains physics, meteorology, aerodynamics, wind measurement, wind turbines, and electricity. New energy policies and grid integration procedures are covered, including pre-deployment studies and grid modifications. Filled with diagrams, tables, charts, graphs, and statistics, Wind Energy Engineering, Second Edition, is a definitive guide to current developments and emerging technologies in wind energy. Wind Energy Engineering, Second Edition covers: The worldwide business of wind energy Wind energy basics Meteorological properties of wind and air Wind turbine aerodynamics Turbine blade element models and power curves Wind measurement and reporting Wind resource assessment Advanced resource assessment topics, including
ISBN: 0071843841Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition by
Has section (9.3) on offshore wind power.
ISBN: 9781259642586Publication Date: 2018-01-08
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Volume 4 by
Has chapter (27) on wind power.
ISBN: 9781118112854Publication Date: 2015-02-02
