Research Librarian for Engineering
Related Research Guides
Tips for getting started
For information about the different types of information sources, and how to use this guide to find appropriate sources, see the Engineer's Guide to the Library.
Since the field of offshore wind power draws on a variety of disciplines, relevant information can be found in sources beyond those devoted specifically to offshore wind power. For example, consider topics such as power or wind power (turbines, batteries, transmission, etc.), oceanography (tides, marine life, sea floor, etc.), and meteorology (wind speeds, climate, etc.).
Offshore Power Research & Education Collaborative (OSPRE) reports
General databases
- Web of ScienceFind scholarly articles and conference proceedings, as well as books, from a broad range of subjects.
- SCOPUSFind scholarly articles and conference proceedings, as well as trade journals and patents, across a wide range of subjects.
- Google ScholarFind scholarly resources using the familiar Google interface. On the Scholar Preferences page, enter "Tufts" under Library Links. This will allow you access to the full-text of the article through one of our subscriptions.
Engineering and energy databases
- Engineering VillageFind scholarly articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters in all areas of engineering.
- IEEE Xplore digital libraryFind scholarly articles, conference proceedings, books, and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, the premier professional organization for electrical engineering.
- ASCE LibraryFull text of all American Society of Civil Engineers journals, ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings, offering in-depth sources on civil and environmental engineering topics.
- OSTI.GOVMaintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information in the U.S. Department of Energy, contains energy-related research results, including journal articles, technical reports, scientific research datasets, patents, conference papers, books and theses created or funded by the DOE.
Earth, environment, and ocean databases
- GeoRefThis database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
- Environment CompleteEnvironment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Includes coverage from 1940s, as well as full text for over 650 journals.
- GreenFILEGreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionArticles, figures and tables, environmental impact statements, and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Conferences
- US Offshore WindAnnual conference for the offshore wind industry.
- Offshore WINDPOWER Conference & ExhibitionAnnual industry conference sponsored by American Clean Power trade group.