HAA 0092: the Art of Empire: Assyria & Babylonia: Home

• The Routledge handbook of the senses in the ancient Near East 
• Ancient Near East: the Basics
• A Companion to the Ancient Near East
• A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient Near East
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East
• The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome, 2010.
• New Pauly Online
• CREDO Reference
• Oxford Reference
• The Art of Ancient Mesopotamia; the Classical art of the Near East.
• Art of the Ancient Near East
• The Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt
• The Art and Architecture of the Ancient Orient

• ARTStor
• Tisch Library Special Collections

• The Electronic Publications Initiative of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago
• Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives (ETANA) 
• LaBaSi -- Late Babylonian Signs
• Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative: CDLI
• Cuneiform.library.cornell.edu 
• Archive of Mesopotamian Archaeological Site Reports
• Virtual Cuneiform Tablet Reconstruction Project
• Iconography of Deities and Demons in the Ancient Near East

• Cleveland Museum of Art
• Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME)
• Fitzwilliam Museum Collections Explorer
• Louvre
• Medelhavsmuseet Collection
• Metropolitan Museum Collection
• Rijksmuseum van Oudheden Collection
• Staatliche Museen zu Berlin Preussischer Kulturbesitz
• Yale University Babylonian Collection
• Archival Texts of the Assyrian Empire - The aim of this project is to expand the Nineveh-focused State Archives of Assyria online (SAAo) corpus by creating a complete, open-access corpus of Neo-Assyrian archival texts. Unlike SAAo, the linguistical-annotated texts in the ATAE corpus are arranged by their provenance and the archive in which they were unearthed.

I. Bibliographies

•  Art History (Annotated Bibliographies), e.g., 
  • Ancient Egyptian Art
  • Assyrian Art and Architecture

II. JumboSearch for Books     

These titles are good starting points:

• Assyria to Iberia: At the Dawn of the Classical Age (2014)
• Assyria to Iberia: Art and Culture in the Iron Age (2016)
• A History of the Ancient Near East, ca. 3000 – 323 B.C. (2007)
• Art and Empire: Treasures from Assyria in the British Museum (1995)
• Cultural Atlas of Mesopotamia and the ancient Near East (1996)
• Assyrian Reliefs from the Palace of Ashurnasirpal II: a Cultural Biography (2010)
• Gods, Demons, and Symbols of Ancient Mesopotamia: An Illustrated Dictionary (1992)
• The forbidden image: an intellectual history of iconoclasm
• Iconoclasm from antiquity to modernity
• The politics of iconoclasm: religion, violence and the culture of image-breaking in Christianity and Islam
• Striking images, iconoclasms past and present

More titles of interests

• • The construction of the Assyrian empire: a historical study of the inscriptions of Shalmanesar III relating to his campaigns in the West
  • Cuneiform texts and the writing of history
  • The art of the ancient Near East in Boston
  • A city from the dawn of history: Erbil in the cuneiform sources
  • The royal city of Susa: ancient Near Eastern treasures in the Louvre
  • The ancient Near East in the Walters Art Gallery
  • Bronze and iron: ancient Near Eastern artifacts in the Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Ancient Near Eastern art in context: studies in honor of Irene J. Winter
  • On art in the ancient Near East
  • Assyrian Rulers 3Rd and 2Nd Millenium
  • Ancient records of Assyria and Babylonia
  • Bronze Age bureaucracy : writing and the practice of government in Assyria

 

Note: WorldWide Libraries (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

 

III. Journal Articles (subject databases)

A. All Subjects

• JSTOR
• Project Muse

A few notable journals in the field:

• Journal of Near Eastern Studies
• IRAQ
• Journal of Ancient Near Eastern History
• Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research
• American Journal of Archaeology
• More

  • • Convivium: exchanges and interactions in the arts of Medieval Europe, Byzantium, and the Mediterreanean.
    • Different Visions
    • Gesta
    • Peregrinations
    • Studies in Iconography (1993-2012)
    • (table of contents of latest issues)

B. Period Studies

• L'année philologique
• Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
• International Medieval Bibliography (400-1500).
• Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance (400 - 1700)

C.  Cross Search Art History and Related Subject Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Art & Architecture Source
• Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• History of Science, Technology and Medicine
• MLA International Bibliography (Literary Studies)
• Women's Studies International

**Not in the EBSco collection is the Index Islamicus (islamic and Middle Eastern Studies database)