Literature and Periodical Databases
- JSTORJSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Music Index OnlineContains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseThis database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text) provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
- Project MUSEProvides electronic access to the full text of Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis database is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureHistorical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, music therapy. librarianship, literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics. Covers journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and other types of resources in the field of music. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musical.
Historical Collections and Sources
- Annotated Catalogue of Chopin's First EditionsThe online version of the Annotated Catalogue is divided into three main parts: Background, Catalogue and Appendices. Reference material is also provided. The first of these parts comprises a lengthy Historical overview, which provides essential information about the publication history of Chopin’s music within each of the countries concerned, as well as pertinent observations about music publishing during the period. Among other things, we discuss the legal contexts surrounding Chopin’s first editions, their general characteristics and the publishers that brought them out. The Background section includes another lengthy section called Explaining the Annotated Catalogue, where we present our classificatory criteria, descriptive method, approaches to cross-referencing and policies on quasi-facsimile transcription as employed throughout the catalogue proper. Information is also provided about how editions have been dated.
Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by
Inventories some 8,000 historically important collected editions of music, including numbered monumental sets and composers' collected editions, as well as musicologically significant publishers' series and anthologies. The compilers have paid particular attention to series and sets published in eas
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML113 .H55 1997Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music by Call Number: Music Library Reference ML113 .H52 1980Publication Date: 1980-01-01
- Index to Printed MusicThe only electronic database for finding individual pieces of music printed in the standard scholarly editions of monumental sets, collections, and the complete works of composers, this important resource is comprised of a Bibliography Database (of over 9,000 citations), a Names Database (of around 20,000 names of composers, librettists, poets, and editors), and an Index Database (of 135,000 records, detailing not only composers and titles, but also opus and thematic catalog numbers, performing forces, formats, genres, and more).