Thematic Catalogs
Thematic catalogs are resources that help you identify an incipit (opening notes) or a theme from a musical work. The most common types of thematic catalogs are guides to a single composer's output. They are arranged either in chronological order or according to a classification scheme. In addition to providing a musical incipit, these resources may also include additional details, such as
- details about manuscripts, autographs, or archival sources
- bibliographical description of sources or editions
- references to complete works or editions
- references to primary material, such as diaries or newspapers
- references to citations in music scholarship
- Cantus: A Database for Latin Ecclesiastical Chant - Inventories of Chant SourcesCantus is a database of the Latin chants found in manuscripts and early printed books, primarily from medieval Europe. This searchable digital archive holds inventories of antiphoners and breviaries -- the main sources for the music sung in the Latin liturgical Office -- as well as graduals and other sources for music of the Mass.
Music of the Venetian Ospedali by
This thematic catalogue of nearly 1300 music manuscripts of Venetian ospedali composers is a vital resource for scholars of Venetian choral music. It is the first to include almost seven hundred manuscripts from the archives of St. Mark's basilica. The catalogue contains entries of music that was performed not only by the four famous girl choirs in Venice at the Pieta, Mendicanti, Ospedaletto, and Incurabili, but music of the ospedali maestri that was performed in St. Mark's, other Venetian churches, and in churches outside Venice. Further, the catalogue contains the repertoire that was written initially for one of the ospedali then revised for St. Mark's or another church and vice versa. There are cross references of the duplicate and revised manuscripts with the specific entry and a complete listing of them in a separate section of the catalogue as well.The catalogue also includes a table of the maestri at St. Mark's and the ospedali, as well as a list of the castrati and other soloists who performed there, and nearly four hundred of the figlie di coro(girl singers at the ospedali). Finally, in an appendix, other manuscripts from St. Mark's archives of music of non-ospedali composers are included. The following are just a few of the 63 composers whose works are contained in the thematic catalogue: Anfossi, Bertoni, Biffi,Furlanetto, Galuppi, Casparini, Hasse, Jommelli, Latilla, Legrenzi, Lotti, Lucchesi, Monferrato,Perotti, Porpora, Sarti, Traetta, Vivaldi.
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML136.A1 W56 1995Publication Date: 1995-03-24
The Ragas of South India by Call Number: Music Library Stacks ML338 .K373Publication Date: 1976-11-01
- Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM)The Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) is an international, non-profit organization with the aim of comprehensively documenting extant musical sources anywhere in the world. RISM's database offers the most comprehensive documentation available for music manuscripts and printed music for the time between 1600 and 1800. It continues to grow through monthly updates and averages around 30,000 new records annually.
Samuel Barber: a Thematic Catalogue of the Complete Works by
Samuel Barber: A Thematic Catalogue of the Complete Works is the first publication to list the entire musical output of one of the most beloved and frequently performed American composers. In this exhaustive study, renowned Barber biographer Barbara Heyman chronologically lists and detailsmore than 100 published and nearly twice as many unpublished works - some until now unknown.Each entry includes information about first performances, commissions, and the circumstances and inspiration of the composition; the texts of songs; a musical extract containing the opening measures of each work, movement, or major aria; duration, revisions, editions, arrangements, and a selectdiscography of historical and contemporary performances. The descriptions of manuscript sources provide details about the hundreds of holograph manuscripts, sketches, drafts, and significant publisher's proofs with Barber's corrections. Entries are enhanced by Heyman's extensive commentary, whichdraws from Barber's correspondence, interviews, and diaries. Useful appendices to the catalogue comprise a register of works by genre; an alphabetical directory of works; an index of first lines of vocal works; a listing by nationality of authors and translators of texts set by Barber; and acomprehensive discography.This thematic catalogue is an invaluable guide for musicians, scholars, and students, providing an essential foundation for any serious study of Barber and his music.
Call Number: Music Library Stacks ML134.B175 A3 2012Publication Date: 2012-04-23
Thematic Catalogue of Troubadour and Trouvére Melodies by
This thematic catalogue is the product of inventories of all manuscripts containing music of the troubadours and trouvères. Melodic incipits of extant melodies are presented in intervallic order, and each incipit is provided with cross-references to appearances of the same or related melodies found in other manuscript sources. Specific references to appropriate philological handbooks also are listed with each melody. The indices include cross-reference tables for the melodies with text handbooks, including those by Pillet-Carstens, Raynaud-Spanke, and Linker. A second series of indices presents the order of appearance of melodies within the individual manuscripts.Introductory materials provide descriptions of each of the manuscripts, or chansonniers, its contents, and its relationships to the other collections. An in-depth bibliography related to the study of the chansonniers concludes the introductory materials. This catalogue is an invaluable resource for scholars and performers working with the medieval monophonic lyric and related polyphonic repertoires such as the ars antiqua motet.
Call Number: Music Library Stacks ML136.A1 M39 2011Publication Date: 2011-10-13
Thematic Catalogues in Music by
In 1997, twenty-five years after its first publication, Thematic Catalogues in Music-An Annotated Bibliography (Pendragon Press, 1972) appeared in a completely revised and expanded Second Edition. It contains almost twice as many entries as its predecessor; virtually every one of the original entries has been updated; and the following noteworthy features have been added.1. A second introductory essay detailing trends and innovations in thematic cataloguing brought about by the revolution in technology of the past twenty years. 2. Appendices listing thematic catalogues in series; both by national organizations and publishers; a detailed up-to-date, country-by-country report of activities worldwide; a listing of major computerized databanks. 3. New double-column format. 4. Numerous illustrations and reproductions of pages from thematic catalogues of historical significance. The second edition continues the policy of listing all known thematic catalogues and indexes, including those in doctoral dissertations, masters essays, and computer databanks, as well as in-progress and unpublished works, plus reviews, and literature about thematic cataloguing. The original numbering of the 1972 entries has been retained, with new items appearing in proper alphabetical/chronological sequence but with the addition of decimal numbers and/or letters (363.1 or 960a). Lastly, the original historical introduction and special appendices of the first edition have been retained with emendations where needed.
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML113 .B86 1997Publication Date: 1997-02-28
