Interdisciplinary Studies Thesis Writers Guide

• Annual Reviews 
  • Articles or chapters that critically analyze significant primary research and recent developments in the science and social sciences, . They provide overviews of topics and can be used to identify key writers in the field.  Best of all, each article or chapter includes an extensive bibliography.
• Dissertations & Theses Global 
  • Try find a recent dissertation relevant to your research. Most likely the introduction chapter would offer a nice literature review on a given topic, plus the comprehensive bibliography. 
• Oxford Bibliographies 
  • Annotated bibliographies on topics in the humanities and social sciences. 
• Subject/Discipline-specific Databases 
  • You will find subject-specific research guides here. major subject/disciplinary databases will listed in each guide and the the contact information of the subject librarian who authors those guides. 
  • Use the subject databases to find "review of literature" , "literature review" and/or "review of books" as well as scholarly journal articles in tops journals in the discipline.

• Libraries worldwide 
  • Books beyond Tufts library collections 
• Interlibrary loan (ILLiad)  
  • Our Interlibrary Loan service enables Tufts students, faculty, and staff to borrow books, CDs, DVDs, microfilm, and other materials from libraries worldwide. The service also provides scans of journal articles and book chapters from other libraries.

See our Citation Guide for answers to your citation questions and for general citations.