|
Welcome to my Research Sources page for The Horror Film! Chao Chen, your Research Librarian |
 |
Annotated Bibliographies and Overviews
1.Bibliographies
- Cinema and media studies (annotated bibliographies)
2. Overviews
- The A-Z of horror films
- Animal horror cinema: genre, history and criticism
- The art of horror movies: an illustrated history
- The Cambridge companion to American horror
- Classics of the horror film
- Gothic cinema: an introduction
- Twentieth-century Gothic: an Edinburgh companion
- A history of horror
- Horror franchise cinema
- New blood: critical approaches to contemporary horror
- Horror in silent films: a filmography, 1896-1929
- Horror films for children: fear and pleasure in American cinema
- Italian horror cinema
- Japanese horror: critical essays on film, literature, anime, video games
- Euro horror: classic European horror cinema in contemporary American culture
- Theatricality in the horror film: a brief study on the dark pleasures of screen artifice
- Horror to the extreme: changing boundaries in Asian cinema
- Spanish horror film and television in the 21st century
Select E-Journals
- Camera Obscura
- Cinema Journal
- Discourse
- Film & History
- Film History
- Film Quarterly
- Framework
- Historical Journal of Film, Radio & Television
- Journal of Film and Video
- Journal of Popular Culture
- Journal of Popular Film & Television
- The Movie Image
- PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
- Projections
- Quarterly Review of Film and Video
- Screen
- The Velvet Light Trap
- Wide Angle
Reading Tips
A systematic approach in your reading helps you consider the article critically. A good critique is really more about your own confidence as a reader than about possession of specific knowledge. (Source: A Survival Guide for Art History Students.)
How to Read Journal Articles Like a Professor by Michael J. Nelson:
- Reading for substance
- Reading as a researcher
- Reading as a writer
Evaluating Information
Books | Articles
1. JumboSearch for Books
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on Subject Headings in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
Sample titles found on Horror Films using the above methods:
- Household horror: cinematic fear and the secret life of everyday objects
- Contemporary gothic and horror film: transnational perspectives
- Horror film and psychoanalysis: Freud's worst nightmare
- Music in the horror film: listening to fear
- Monstrous nature: environment and horror on the big screen
- Menacing environments: ecohorror in contemporary Nordic cinema
- It came from the closet: queer reflections on horror
- New queer horror film and television
- What's eating you?: food and horror on screen
- The Uncanny child in Transnational Cinema: ghosts of futurity at the turn of the twenty-first century
- New blood in contemporary cinema: women directors and the poetics of horror
- The pulse in cinema: the aesthetics of horror
- Affective intensities and evolving horror forms: from found footage to virtual reality
- Cinematic emotion in horror films and thrillers: the aesthetic paradox of pleasurable fear
- Fairytale and gothic horror: uncanny transformations in film
- Theology and horror: explorations of the dark religious imagination
- The Exorcist effect: horror, religion, and demonic belief
- Planet Auschwitz: Holocaust representation in science fiction and horror film and television
- Reanimated: the contemporary American horror remake
- Horror film and otherness
- Post-horror: art, genre, and cultural elevation
Note: Worldwide Libraries (also known as WorldCat is still a better place to get a fuller picture of books on a topic.)
2. Journal and Magazine Articles
A. All subjects
B. Film Studies and Related Subjects
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier (all subjects), America: History and Life, Communication & Mass Media, Film & Television Literature, Historical Abstracts (World history and culture), LGBTQ+ Source, Music Literature, Women's Studies International
Tip: Crash the Research Party
Subject-specific databases such as Film and Television Literature Index. is where film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?
