Books    

• JumboSearch
• Libraries Worldwide 

Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)

1. Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
2. Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
3. Use that language in further searches

e.g., Click on Subject Headings in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:

Title::	The filming of modern life: European avant-garde film of the 1920s
Author	Turvey, Malcolm
Subjects:	Art and motion pictures -- Europe
	Art and society -- Europe -- History -- 20th century
	Experimental films -- Europe -- History and criticism
	Modernism (Art) -- Europe

Sample titles found using the above methods:

• Absence in cinema: the art of showing nothing
• Cinema by other means
• Cinema expanded: avant-garde film in the age of intermedia
• Cutting edge: art-horror and the horrific avant-garde
• The emergence of film culture: knowledge production, institution building, and the fate of the avant-garde in Europe, 1919-1945
• Fields of view: film, art and spectatorship
• The filming of modern life: European avant-garde film of the 1920s
• A history of experimental film and video: from canonical avant-garde to contemporary British practice
• Lessons in perception: the avant-garde filmmaker as practical psychologist
• Moving forward, looking back: the European avant-garde and the invention of film culture, 1919-1939
• Other cinemas: politics, culture and experimental film in the 1970s
• Through the looking glass: John Cage and avant-garde film

A few more

• • The city symphony phenomenon: cinema, art, and urban modernity between the wars
  • Ex-cinema: from a theory of experimental film and video
  • Improvising cinema
  • Movement as meaning in experimental cinema: the musical poetry of motion pictures revisited
  • Sound and Image: Aesthetics and Practices.
  • Unbecoming cinema: unsettling encounters with ethical event films

Annotated Bibliographies

• Cinema and Media Studies

Journal Articles 

1. All Subjects

• JStor
• Project Muse

2. Film Studies and Related Subject Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• Art & Architecture Source
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• MLA International Bibliography (Literary studies)
• Women's Studies International

Tip: Crash the Research Party

Subject-specific databases such as Film and Television Literature Index. is where film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?