|
Welcome to my Research Sources page for Black Germany! Chao Chen, your class research librarian |
 |
Finding Books
Books 
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
Sample found titles using the above method:
- Black Germany: the making and unmaking of a diaspora community, 1884-1960.
- Germany and the Black diaspora: points of contact, 1250-1914.
- Not so plain as black and white: Afro-German culture and history, 1890-2000.
- Remapping Black Germany: New Perspectives on Afro-German History, Politics, and Culture.
Finding Articles
Journal Articles 
1. All Subjects
2. Subject-Specific Databases
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Film & Television Literature Index
- Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
- MLA International Bibliography (Literary Studies)
- Race Relations Abstracts
- Women's Studies International
Tip: Crash the Research Party
Subject-specific databases are where scholars gather to talk about their research in their respective fields. For example, the subject database, Film & Television Literature Index, is where film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?
3. Black Studies