Grad Student Research Toolkit

JumboSearch can be used to find books, articles, films, and other resources from Tisch Library. You can even customize your search results to return primary source material if you combine select subject terms with your other search terms.

Click on a subject term below to search for that subject term in in JumboSearch. Then, add your own keywords to search for the primary sources you need.

Tufts Archival Research Center

TARC is the archives and manuscript repository of Tufts University and is open to the public. TARC’s team of professional archivists provides stewardship for the Tufts University Archives, nearly three hundred manuscript collections, and other permanently valuable physical and digital archival materials.

• Ask an Archivist for help using the TARC's collections and services or to schedule a visit.

Special Collections

Browse Tisch Library's Special Collections including medieval manuscripts, early printed books, musical scores, artist books, and more.

A few of Tisch Library's individual historical newspaper holdings:

• Boston Globe (1872-1989)
• New York Times (1851-2017)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1996)

Historical Newspaper Databases:

• Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)
• African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
• Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980

See also:

• Tufts' News Sources Research Guide

• HathiTrust Digital Library:
  • large-scale collaborative repository with over 10 million volumes including content digitized via the Google Books project, Internet Archive, and by local libraries. Public domain content is full-text; non-public domain content (post-1923) is for full-text searching only
• Adam Matthew Explorer:
  • search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th–21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year. Resources span the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives
• Archives of Sexuality and Gender:
  • brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more
• Early Encounters in North America:
  • expanding source of letters, diaries and other accounts of early encounters between Europeans and Native Americans from the mid-1600s through the mid 1800s
• Gale Primary Sources:
  • combines a number of primary source collections in the humanities and social sciences to allow for research across several centuries and millions of pages of newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs

See Also:

• Primary Sources by Topic