Finding Books in Library Catalogs:
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
Title: Disney and philosophy: truth, trust, and a little bit of pixie dust Author(s): Davis, Richard Brian; Irwin, William. Subjects: Animated films -- United States -- History and criticism Disney characters -- Philosophy Walt Disney Company
A few sample titles at Tisch:
- Animality and children's literature and film
- The culture of the sound image in prewar Japan
- Disney and philosophy: truth, trust, and a little bit of pixie dust
- The Disneyfication of animals
- Handsome heroes & vile villains: masculinity in Disney's feature animation
- Hayao Miyazaki
- Joe Hisaishi's soundtrack for My neighbor Totoro
- Miyazakiworld: a life in art
- Multispecies Storytelling in Intermedial Practices
- Music in Disney's animated features: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs to The jungle book
- Starting point: 1979-1996
Some sample subject browsing:
- "Animated films -- Japan"
- "Animated films -- United States"
- "Miyazaki, Hayao, 1941-
- "Walt Disney Productions"
Finding articles in Subject Databases
A. All subjects
B. Film and Related Subjects
- Communication & Mass Media
- Film & Television Literature Index
- Screen Studies Collection (more foreign language publication)
- Art & Architecture Source
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Historical Abstracts
- LGBTQ+ Source
- MLA International Bibliography (Literature, folklore and related studies.)
- Women's Studies
Tip: Crash the Research Party
Subject-specific databases such as Film and Television Literature Index. is where film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?
C. Current Newspapers
Professor Susan Napier's Talks and Publications
- The biggest anime film of all time comes to the US
- “How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Enjoy Being an Anime Expert”
- How Miyazaki's Studio Ghibli became an animation powerhouse
- Finding Creativity in Japanese Artists
- Susan Napier's Miyazakiworld
- Tapestries of Apocalypse: From Angers to 'Nausicaa' and Beyond
- World Building: The Utopian Dreams and Apocalyptic Nightmares of Hayao Miyazaki.
Reading a Citation and Abstract of a Scholarly Article in a Subject Database:
Author(s): 1. Check their academic background and expertise.
2.The title of the journal may suggest a particular disciplinary lens; the publication date indicates the currency of the scholarship. SubjectTerms:
3. theoretical/contextual frameworks of discussions.
4. Read the abstract for the scope of article—what it covers and in what depth:
- Does the source make an argument relevant to your topic?
- Does it respond to other arguments made by other scholars?
- Does it lay out background information relevant to your topic?
- Does it summarize other research on your topic?
- If you wanted to gain background information on this topic, would looking at this article be enough, or would you need to consult other sources?
**Remember bibliographies in articles and books may lead to other potentially interesting sources.
A sample Record of Citation+abstract from a subject database:
Reading a Scholarly Journal Article:
A systematic approach in your reading helps you consider the article critically. A good critique is really more about your own confidence as a reader than about possession of specific knowledge.
1. Read the abstract first.
The abstract will tell you what to expect from an article so you know what to look for as you read it. (See above, too.)
3. Next, read the introduction and the conclusion.
A good introduction will tell you exactly what to expect, especially concerning the thesis or hypothesis. The conclusion will summarize the main points, the arguments, and importance of the article.
4. Skim the article to find images and data such as tables and graphs.
Take the time to locate them and try to understand them in the context of what you know from the introduction and conclusion sections. This will better prepare you for all the dense information found in the article.
5. Read through the entire article.
Once you have finished steps 1-3 you will be far better prepared to understand the article than if you read it just once from start to finish.
6. Review the reference section and/or the footnotes.
One of the best ways to find relevant scholarly literature is to pay close attention to which studies are cited in the article you are reading. By definition, these studies will be relevant to the information you just read.
The BEAM model (Background, Exhibits, Argument, Method) is one illustration of the variety of ways we can use our readings/sources.
Bizup, Joseph. "BEAM: A Rhetorical Vocabulary for Teaching Research-Based Writing." Rhetoric Review vol. 27, no. 1, 2008, 72-86.