|
Welcome to my Research Sources page for Dada and the Avant-Garde! Chao Chen, your class research librarian |
 |
Books
Books
Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)
- Find a relevant book (e.g., from your assigned readings?)
- Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
- Use that language in further searches
e.g., Click on Subject Headings in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:
Title:: Dada's subject and structure: performing ideology poorly Author Pelcher, Brandon Subjects: Dada Dadaism Browse JumboSearch on Themes:
Broader Contexts:
Narrower Focuses:
Sample titles found using the above methods:
- Challenging modernity: Dada between modern and postmodern
- Dada
- Dada and surrealist art
- The Dada painters and poets: an anthology
- The Dada reader: a critical anthology
- Destruction was my Beatrice: Dada and the unmaking of the twentieth century
- Languages of revolt: Dada and surrealist literature and film
- Machinic Assemblages of Desire: Deleuze and Artistic Research 3
- Pasts, futures, and aftermaths: revisiting the Black Dada reader
- Women in Dada: essays on sex, gender, and identity
Annotated Bibliographies
Articles
Journal Articles
1. All Subjects
2. Film Studies and Related Subject Databases
- In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
- Art & Architecture Source
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Film & Television Literature Index
- Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
- MLA International Bibliography (Literary studies)
- Women's Studies International
Tip: Crash the Research Party
Subject-specific databases such as Art & Architecture Source and Film and Television Literature Index. is where art/film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw names of artists, groups, filmmakers and their works that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific names in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?
