Performing Groups and Professional Societies:

• American Society for Theatre Research
• American Theatre (Theatre Communications Group)
• Asian American Resource Workshop
• Boston Asian American Film Festival
• College Theatre Guide (Association for Theatre in Higher Ed.)
• East West Players
• HowlRound Theatre Commons
• Ma-Yi Theater Company
• New York Times: Theatre Arts
• Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
• SubDrift Boston
• Theater Mu

Background Readings and Quick Lookups:

• Asian American histories of the United States
• Asian American studies now: a critical reader

• The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
• Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre

• CREDO Reference 
• Oxford Reference 

Visuals

Image Database & Library Collections

• ARTStor
• Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
• Library of Congress American Memory Project
• New York Public Library  digital collections

Streaming Videos

• Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama, University of Oxford (Podcasts and Videos section)
• The BBC Shakespeare Plays
• BroadwayHD
• Dance in Video
• Digital Theatre (live performance by leading British theatre companies)
• Films from Kanopy
• Filmmakers Library Online (Award-winning documentaries)
• Opera in video
• PBS Video Collection

• **see also, Finding Videos

Evaluating Information

• Evaluating Articles
• Evaluating Books
• Evaluating Web Sites
• Evaluating Videos

I. JumboSearch for Books   

Note: Worldwide Libraries (a much larger collection to get a fuller picture of  books on a topic.)

Faculty recommended readings:

• A Race So Different: Performance and Law in Asian America
• A View from the Bottom: Asian American Masculinity and Sexual Representation
• Afro Asia: Revolutionary Political and Cultural Connections Between African Americans and Asian Americans
• Alien Capital: Asian Racialization and the Logic of Settler Colonial Capitalism
• Aspiring to Home:South Asians in America
• Beyond Bollywood: the Cultural Politics of South Asian Diasporic Film
• Empire and Environment: Ecological Ruin in the Transpacific
• Ends of Empire: Asian American Critique and the Cold War
• The Hypersexuality of Race: Performing Asian/American Women on Screen and Stage
• Impossible Desires: Queer Diasporas and South Asian Public Cultures
• Insurgent aesthetics: security and the queer life of the forever war
• National Abjection: The Asian American Body on Stage
• Puro arte: Filipinos on the stages of empire
• Queering Contemporary Asian American Art
• Racial Castration: Managing Masculinity in Asian America

 

A few more titles:

• Art as Healing: Resilience in Multiple Truths Fresh Talk/Daring Gazes: Conversations on Asian American Art Asian America through the lens: history, representations, and identity Countervisions: Asian American film criticism Ghostlife of third cinema: Asian American film and video Identities in motion: Asian American film and video Screening Asian Americans A history of Asian American theatre Asian American X: an intersection of twenty-first-century Asian American voices Performing Asian America: Race and Ethnicity on the Contemporary Stage Unfastened: Globality and Asian North American Narratives Q&A: Voices from Queer Asian North America

II. Articles

Performing Arts and Related Subject Databases for Articles:

• America: History & Life
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Communication & Mass Media
• LGBTQ+ Source
• Performing Arts Periodicals Database
• Women's Studies International
• JSTOR
• Project Muse

Magazine and Newspaper Articles:

• Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)
• More

Our most frequently requested newspapers:

• New York Times: Theatre Arts
• Boston Globe
• The Washington Post: Direct Publisher Access
• The Washington Post on Factiva