Global Indigenous Film & Media: Home

Books    

• JumboSearch
• Libraries Worldwide 

 

Path of Discovery in JumboSearch, (our book catalog and more)

1. Find a relevant book (e.g., a scholar you know, or, from your assigned readings?)
2. Note the descriptive language of the Catalog record.
3. Use that language in further searches

e.g., Click on subjects in the record to see further results and related topics; and/or combine these subject phrases with other keywords for a more focused search:

Title:	Visualities: Perspectives on Contemporary American Indian Film and Art
Author	Cummings, Denise K
Subjects:	American Indian artists
	American Indian motion picture producers and directors
	American Indians in Motion Pictures
	Indigenous films
	Native American Studies

Some titles found with the above method:

• Affectual erasure: representations of indigenous peoples in Argentine cinema
• Alanis Obomsawin: lifework
• Alanis Obomsawin: the vision of a native filmmaker
• Carnivalizing Reconciliation: Contemporary Australian and Canadian Literature and Film beyond the Victim Paradigm
• Hollywood’s Native Americans: Stories of Identity and Resistance
• Picturing Indians: Native Americans in Film, 1941-1960
• Reservation Reelism: Redfacing, Visual Sovereignty, and Representations of Native Americans in Film
• Smoke Signals: Native Cinema Rising
• Our Own Image: A Story of a Maori Filmmaker
• Visualities 2: more perspectives on contemporary American Indian film and art

More subject browses and keyword search in JumboSearch:

• American Indians on Television
• Indigenous films -- History and criticism
• Indigenous peoples in motion pictures
• Indigenous peoples and mass media
• "Native American Studies" and "motion pictures"

Reference Sources:

• Cinema and Media Studies (annotated bibliographies)
• Early Encounters in North America
• Indigenous Peoples of North America

Journal Articles 

1. All Subjects

• JStor
• Project Muse

2. Film Studies and Related Subject Databases

• In EBSCOhost databases, you can select to search across the following databases, among others:
• America: History & Life
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index
• Historical Abstracts (World history and culture)
• Women's Studies International

Tip: Crash the Research Party

Subject-specific databases such as Film and Television Literature Index. is where film historians and scholars are having their research party, sharing with each other their scholarship. Throw titles/filmmakers that interest you into the database; then "listen to" the conversations about them: how scholars have studied them? If you don’t yet have specific films/filmmakers in mind, entering keywords of topical themes, and observe what films are being associated with these topics, how and why?

3. Magazines and Newspapers

• Access World News (rich U.S. regional news)
• Factiva (more international coverage)
• More

Tufts Subscription:

Tisch Library provides access to both streaming video through platforms such as Kanopy  and Swank as well as access to physical media such as in DVD format. Films and televisions programs are findable in JumboSearch, the Tufts libraries catalog.